2017 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony adds Snoop Dogg, Pharrell Williams to starry line-up

The April 7 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame ceremony at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn just added four famous names to induct the honorees: Snoop Dogg will tout Tupac ShakurPharrell Williams will fete Nile RodgersPat Monahan will sing the praises of Journey and Dhani Harrison will salute Electric Light Orchestra.

They join the previously announced Neil Young who will induct Pearl Jam, Jackson Browne will do likewise for Joan Baez, as will Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson of Rush for Yes. All but Yes, which had lost two previous bids, were first-time contenders for this honor.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with
experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an artist must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to their nomination, so this year’s honorees date back to 1991 (as in the case of Pearl Jam and Shakur) or earlier.

This sextet was culled from a list of 19 nominees released in mid October. To decide the inductees, ballots were sent to more than 800 music industry insiders around the world. Fans also had a chance to weigh in with their thoughts.

Dish the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame honorees
with music insiders in our notorious forums

The other four freshman contenders this year were: Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Jane’s Addiction and Steppenwolf.

Besides Yes, which made it in on its third try, there were nine returning nominees, none of which made  the final cut. Disco group Chic was in the running for the 11th time, singer/songwriter Joe Tex is now a five-time also-ran, the groups J. Geils Band and Kraftwerk were back for the fourth year, and the sophomore contenders were songbird Janet Jackson, the 80s New Wave band The Cars, queen of funk Chaka Khan, rockers MC5 and the Brit band The Zombies.

The ceremony is overseen by Playtone and Line By Line Productions with Alex Coletti handling both helming and producing. Executive producers are Jann Wenner, Tom Hanks, Gary Goetzman and Joel Peresman; co-executive producer is Frank Garritano; and supervising producer is Barbra Dannov. The ceremony will be broadcast on HBO on Saturday April 29 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.


More News from GoldDerby