Critics’ Choice TV Awards chief reveals why they dropped the Guest Performer categories [EXCLUSIVE]

When the full list of 2018 Critics’ Choice TV nominations were announced on Wednesday, Gold Derby noticed that there were no nominees listed for Best Comedy Guest Performer or Best Drama Guest Performer. These categories, which notably combined actors and actresses together, were added back in 2012 at the second annual Critics’ Choice ceremony. We reached out to Broadcast Film Critics Association President Joey Berlin for clarification on the missing guest performer categories, and he revealed they were dropped. His statement is below:

In recent years, after the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards and the Critics’ Choice Television Awards were combined into one show, BFCA and BTJA were voting on more than 50 awards, many more than could actually be presented on our awards telecast. After much deliberation, we decided to no longer vote on the guest performance categories in television dramas and comedies, as well as the acting in Action Movies categories on the film side. There are currently no plans to do a Most Bingeworthy Show category, either.

Will you miss the guest performer categories at the Critics’ Choice TV Awards? Sound off down in the comments section.

Here’s the rundown of all the comedic guest performers that prevailed with the Broadcast Television Journalists Association: Paul Rudd as Bobby Newport (“Parks and Recreation”), Patton Oswalt as Garth Blundin (“Parks and Recreation”), Uzo Aduba as Suzanne “Crazy Eyes” Warren (“Orange Is the New Black”), Bradley Whitford as Marcy May (“Transparent”), Timothy Olyphant as Himself (“The Grinder”) and Alec Baldwin as Donald Trump (“Saturday Night Live”).

And the following dramatic guest performers took home Critics’ Choice TV Awards over the past several years: Lucy Liu as Officer Jessica Tang (“Southland”), Jane Fonda as Leona Lansing (“The Newsroom”), Allison Janney as Margaret Scully (“Masters of Sex”), Sam Elliott as Avery Markham (“Justified”), Margo Martindale as Ruth Eastman (“The Good Wife”) and Jeffrey Dean Morgan as Negan (“The Walking Dead”).

The fan-voted category of Most Bingeworthy Show was awarded to watercooler fare like “The Walking Dead” and “Outlander.”

PREDICT the Golden Globe nominees now; change them until December 11

Jump into the Golden Globes predictions center and let us know your choices today. You’ll be competing against thousands of others, including top TV experts who cover the television industry throughout the year plus our own Gold Derby editors. Hollywood insiders are desperate to see how their shows and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on December 11. And join in the fierce debate over the 2018 Golden Globes taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our TV forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby