2018 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees: Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues, Nina Simone

On Wednesday (Dec. 13), the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the five acts to be inducted in the spring: Bon Jovi, The Cars, Dire Straits, The Moody Blues and Nina Simone. Another of the 19 nominees, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, will be honored as an early influencer. Tharpe passed away in 1973 while Simone died in 2003. Both were on the ballot for the first time this year as was The Moody Blues band.

This sextet was culled from a list of nominees released in mid October. To decide the inductees, ballots were sent to more than 800 music industry insiders around the world. Fans also had a chance to weigh in with their thoughts.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an artist must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to their nomination. Of those in contention this year, only Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine were nominated in their first year of eligibility.

The other also-rans were: Kate Bush, Depeche ModeEurythmicsJ. Geils Band, LL Cool JMC5, The Meters, Judas Priest, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Link Wray and The Zombies.

The 33rd annual induction ceremony will be held on April 14, 2018 at the Public Hall in Cleveland, Ohio. An edited version of the ceremony will be broadcast on HBO.

More News from GoldDerby