2018 Tony Awards: Meet the 24 theater professionals who rule on the eligibility of productions

Unlike the Oscars, Emmys and Grammys, the Tony Awards decide eligibility on a rolling basis. The Administration Committee meets four times a season to determine whether the most recent productions meet the critieria for consideration for these top Broadway honors.

The committee is made up of two dozen theater professionals, with 10 apiece from the Broadway League and the American Theater Wing — which jointly host these top theater kudos — and one each from the Dramatists Guild, Actors’ Equity Assn., United Scenic Artists and the Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers.

A separate committee, comprised of 51 theater folk who attend all the plays and musicals that open on Broadway in a season, will decide on the Tony nominations. This hardy lot will meet on the last weekend in April to cast secret ballots in 24 competitive categories. Nominations for the Tonys will be unveiled on May 1 and the 72nd Annual Tony Awards will take place on June 10.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

The current Administration Committee members, who will rule on the eligibility of elements of upwards of three dozen productions for the 2018 Tony Awards are:

Ted Chapin – President, Rodgers & Hammerstein Organization
Michael David – Producer
Cecilia Friederichs – National Business Agent, United Scenic Artists
Sue Frost – Producer
Heather Hitchens – American Theater Wing
David Henry Hwang – Playwright
John Gore – Producer
Natasha Katz – Lighting Designer
Paul Libin – Producer
William Ivey Long – Costume Designer
John Lyons – Producer
Mary McColl – Executive Director, Actors’ Equity Assn.
Kevin McCollum – Producer
James L. Nederlander – Producer
Enid Nemy – Journalist
Laura Penn Executive Director, Society of Stage Directors and Choreographers
Michael Price – Past Executive Director, Goodspeed Musicals
Judith O. Rubin -Chair, Playwrights Horizons Board
Charlotte St. Martin  – Broadway League
Peter Schneider – Producer
Thomas Schumacher – Producer
Ralph Sevush Executive Director /Business & Legal Affairs, Dramatists Guild
Philip Smith – Producer
David Stone – Producer

DISCUSS Tony contenders with Broadway insiders in our notorious forums

More News from GoldDerby