Academy Board of Governors election results: Whoopi Goldberg, Kimberly Peirce …

On Thursday (June 29), the motion picture academy announced the results of its annual Board of Governors election. EGOT champ Whoopi Goldberg prevailed in a hotly contested contest to be one of the three representatives from the actors branch while Kimberly Peirce finally prevailed in her bid to be on the directors branch.

Each of the 17 branches of the academy is represented by three governors who serve three-year terms. Those terms are staggered such that one governor from each branch is up for re-election each year. And no governor may serve for more than nine uninterrupted years.

Six incumbents were voted back in by branch members while Goldberg and Pierce number among the 10 newcomers to the board. Richard Edlund, who had previously served as a Visual Effects branch governor returns to that role after a break. In all, women won nine of the 17 elections, which furthers the diversity initiative at the academy that also saw a record number of new members invited to join earlier this week.

To fill the seat vacated by a term-limited Annette Bening, Goldberg faced off against another Supporting Actress Oscar winner (Geena Davis) as well as past nominee Edward James Olmos and Rita Wilson who is married to another of the branch governors, Tom Hanks.

Peirce edged out John Badham, Kasi Lemmons and Donald M. Petrie. Perseverance also paid off for Larry Karaszewski who won the right to represent the writers. He had lost a previous bid in a run-off to Billy Ray. This time he won over Aline Brosh McKenna, John Ridley and Dana Stevens.

The seven other new governors are:

Mandy Walker, Cinematographers Branch
Isis Mussenden, Costume Designers Branch
Wynn P. Thomas, Designers Branch
David Linde, Executives Branch
Christina Kounelias, Public Relations Branch
Thomas R. Sito, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch
Teri E. Dorman, Sound Branch

And the six governors re-elected are:

Lora Kennedy, Casting Directors Branch
Kate Amend, Documentary Branch
Michael Tronick, Film Editors Branch
Kathryn L. Blondell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Charles Bernstein, Music Branch
Albert Berger, Producers Branch

More News from GoldDerby