‘America’s Got Talent’ winners list: Darci Lynne Farmer joins Grace VanderWaal, Paul Zerdin …

“America’s Got Talent” crowned its 12th winner Wednesday night with child ventriloquist Darci Lynne Farmer squeaking out a win over second-place competitor Angelica Hale. Farmer becomes the third ventriloquist to win, following in the footsteps of Season 2’s Terry Fator, who appeared on the Season 12 finale alongside Farmer, and Season 10’s Paul Zerdin. If you need a refresher on all the champions, then click through our photo gallery above that highlights all of the past “America’s Got Talent” winners.

At only 12 years old, Farmer also happens to be the third child act to prevail after last year’s singer-songwriter/ukeleleist Grace VanderWaal (12 year old) and the first-ever champ, singer Bianca Ryan (11 years old).

Many of the show’s winners have been adult male singers, with four in a row fitting that description: Neal E. Boyd (Season 3), Kevin Skinner (Season 4), Michael Grimm (Season 5) and Landau Eugene Murphy Jr. (Season 6).

The remaining three champs all come from the variety spectrum: dog act Olate Dogs (Season 7), dancer Kenichi Ebina (Season 8) and magician Mat Franco (Season 9).

Surprisingly, a group variety act has never won, although Diavolo and Light Balance both came close this year. Also never to win? A comedian. Preacher Lawson made it to the Finals of Season 12, but he was eliminated just prior to making the Top 5.

Which winning act is your all-time favorite? And how does Darci Lynne Farmer compare to the prior “Americas Got Talent” champions? Be sure to sound off down in the comments section.

More News from GoldDerby