Amy Adams to be honored with American Cinematheque Award

Five-time Oscar nominee Amy Adams will be honored by American Cinematheque at its annual fundraising dinner at the Beverly Hilton on Nov. 10 after being the unanimous choice of the board. In making the announcement, Rick Nicita, the chair of this non-profit dedicated to movie preservation said, “Amy Adams is one of the most beloved, admired, and respected actresses in movies today.”

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

As he elaborated, “Her credits range from critical favorites like ‘American Hustle’ and ‘Arrival’ to blockbusters like ‘Enchanted’ and ‘Man of Steel,’ combining strong reviews and commercial success. Her appeal crosses all demographic groups and she continues to broaden her audience with performances that illuminate her movie-star qualities. She has been honored with many nominations and awards from critics, fans and industry organizations all over the world. In the words of one of her directors, she is smart, tough, funny, warm, ambitious and, of course, beautiful.”

Dish movies with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Last year’s honoree was Ridley Scott. The first, back in 1986 was Eddie Murphy. In between, American Cinematheque, which operates the historic 1922 Egyptian Theatre on Hollywood Boulevard, honored the following famous film folk: Bette Midler (1987); Robin Williams (1988); Steven Spielberg (1989); Ron Howard (1990); Martin Scorsese (1991); Sean Connery (1992); Michael Douglas (1993); Rob Reiner (1994); Mel Gibson (1995); Tom Cruise (1996); John Travolta (1997); Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998); Jodie Foster (1999); Bruce Willis (2000); Nicolas Cage (2001); Denzel Washington (2002); Nicole Kidman (2003); Steve Martin (2004); Al Pacino (2005); George Clooney (2006); Julia Roberts (2007); Samuel L. Jackson (2008); Matt Damon (2010); Robert Downey Jr. (2011); Ben Stiller (2012); Jerry Bruckheimer (2013); Matthew McConaughey (2014);and Reese Witherspoon (2015).

More News from GoldDerby