2017 Cannes Film Festival lineup includes films by Sofia Coppola, Todd Haynes and Michael Haneke

On Thursday, April 13, the Cannes Film Festival announced its official lineup of 2017 films, and they include titles directed by Oscar winners Sofia Coppola (“Lost in Translation”) and Michel Hazanavicius (“The Artist”) as well as Oscar nominees Noah Baumbach (“The Squid and the Whale”), Michael Haneke (“Amour”), Todd Haynes (“Far From Heaven”), Yorgos Lanthimos (“The Lobster”), plus many more internationally renowned filmmakers. The complete list of films in competition are as follows:

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

In the Fade,” directed by Fatih Akin (100 minutes)

The Meyerowitz Stories,” directed by Noah Baumbach (110 minutes)

Okja,” directed by Bong Joon-Ho (120 minutes)

“12 Battements Par Minute,” directed by Robin Campillo (135 minutes)

The Beguiled,” directed by Sofia Coppola (91 minutes)

“Rodin,” directed by Jacques Doillon (119 minutes)

“Happy End,” directed by Michael Haneke (110 minutes)

Wonderstruck,” directed by Todd Haynes (120 minutes)

“Le Redoutable,” directed by Michel Hazanavicius (102 minutes)

“The Day After,” directed by Hong Sangsoo (92 minutes)

“Radiance,” directed by Naomi Kawase (101 minutes)

The Killing of a Sacred Deer,” directed by Yorgos Lanthimos (109 minutes)

A Gentle Creature,” directed by Sergei Loznitsa (142 minutes)

“Jupiter’s Moon,” directed by Kornel Mundruczo (100 minutes)

“L’Amant Double,” directed by Francois Ozon (110 minutes)

You Were Never Really Here,” directed by Lynne Ramsay (95 minutes)

Good Time,” directed by Benny Safdie and Josh Safdie (99 minutes)

Loveless,” directed by Andrey Zvyagintsev (128 minutes)

Dish the Cannes Film Festival with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

That festival lineup includes two films starring Nicole Kidman (Lanthimos’s “Killing of a Sacred Deer” and Coppola’s “Beguiled”). This continues a strong year for the actress, who celebrated her fourth Oscar nomination for “Lion” and some of the best reviews of her career for her performance in the HBO miniseries “Big Little Lies.”

Last year’s Palme d’Or, the top prize awarded by the festival jury, was given to the British film “I, Daniel Blake” by Ken Loach, which went on to receive multiple BAFTA nominations including Best Picture but didn’t make an impact at the Oscars. Loach is one of just eight filmmakers who have won the Palme twice. Hanake is another, so he could potentially become the first to win three times with “Happy End” starring recent Oscar nominee Isabelle Huppert and Toby Jones in a family drama set against the backdrop of the European refugee crisis.

In the last 12 years, only one American film has won the Palme: “The Tree of Life” by Terrence Malick (2011), which did go on to contend for Best Picture at the Academy Awards. Haneke’s “Amour” won the Palme in 2012, which makes it the last Cannes champ to contend for the Best Picture Oscar.

Oscar Best Picture Gallery: History of Every Academy Award-Winning Movie

And the digital revolution in the film world continues as two Netflix titles compete at the festival: Baumbach’s “Meyerowitz Stories” starring Adam Sandler, Ben Stiller, Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompson, and Bong’s “Okja” with Tilda Swinton and Jake Gyllenhaal. Said Bong in a statement, “I’m honored to be returning to Cannes, most especially this year with ‘Okja’ and my partners at Netflix – it is wonderful to bring their first produced original film to premiere In Competition.”

More News from GoldDerby