Costume Designers Guild Awards 2017 winners: ‘La La Land,’ ‘Hidden Figures,’ ‘Doctor Strange’

La La Land,” which is predicted to win Best Costume Design at the Oscars, prevailed with the guild at its 19th annual awards on Tuesday by taking home the contemporary award. “Hidden Figures” won the award for period costumes over Oscar nominees “Jackie” and “Florence Foster Jenkins,” while “Doctor Strange” took the fantasy award, bypassing Oscar contender “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.” The fifth Academy pick, “Allied,” was passed over at the guild.

On the TV side, “Game of Thrones” prevailed in the fantasy category, while “The Crown” took period and “American Horror Story: Roanoke” won contemporary. Pepsi’s “Momotaro” ad, featuring Jude Law, was honored in the short form category.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Last year, eventual Oscar winner Jenny Beavan‘s post-apocalyptic designs for “Mad Max: Fury Road” won Best Fantasy Costume Design here over one of her Oscar rivals, Sandy Powell (“Cinderella”). The other CDG nominees were “Ex Machina,” “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2” and “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.” Powell also lost Best Period Costume Design for her Oscar-nominated work on “Carol” to another Academy Awards contender, Paco Delgado for “The Danish Girl.”  The other nominees were “Brooklyn,” “Crimson Peak” and “Trumbo.” The fifth Oscar nominee, Jacqueline West for “The Revenant,” was snubbed by the CDG.

In 2014, “The Grand Budapest Hotel” won the CDG’s award for Period Film before going on to win the Oscar for Best Costume Design as well. Its Oscar rival “Inherent Vice” was also a nominee in the guild’s period contest. Two other Oscar nominees, “Into the Woods” and “Maleficent,” were CDG nominees for Fantasy Film, while the fifth Oscar nominee, “Mr. Turner,” was snubbed by the guild entirely.

UPDATED: Oscar Experts predict winners in all 24 categories

In 2013 “12 Years a Slave” pulled off an upset here, winning the period award over eventual Oscar champ “The Great Gatsby” and another Oscar nominee, “American Hustle.” The other two Oscar contenders — “The Grandmaster” and “The Invisible Woman” — were snubbed by the guild. “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” won the fantasy prize at the CDG while “Blue Jasmine” prevailed in the contemporary race.

In 2012 “Anna Karenina” won the period prize before prevailing at the Oscars against CDG rivals “Lincoln,” “Les Miserables” and “Snow White and the Huntsman” as well as fantasy winner “Mirror Mirror.”

In 2011 “W.E.” won the period prize while the final “Harry Potter” picture took the fantasy genre and “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” claimed the contemporary category. “W.E” edged out three of the other period pictures that were in the running at the Oscars — “The Artist,” “Jane Eyre” and “Hugo” — along with “Anonymous.” The final CDG nominee, “The Help,” was snubbed by the academy. However, it was “The Artist” that prevailed at the Oscars.

Join the live Oscars debate going on right now in our world-famous forums

In 2010, two of the three CDG period nominees — “The King’s Speech” and “True Grit” — reaped Oscar bids. In 2009, three of the CDG choices for period film costumes made the final five at the Oscars while in both 2008 and 2007 four made the cut.

By naming only three period pictures in 2010, the CDG left the Oscar field open and two of its fantasy nominees — “Alice in Wonderland” and “The Tempest” — made the grade with the Academy. Indeed, “Alice in Wonderland” won awards from both groups, which marked the seventh time in the then-14-year history of the CDG that a champ of theirs prevailed at the Oscars.

The last fantasy film to prevail at the Oscars before “Alice in Wonderland” was “Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” in 2003, while the last contemporary movie to win was “The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert” in 1994.

The 19th edition of these kudos, which also honor costume design in television and commercials, took place at the Beverly Hilton on Feb. 21. Meryl Streep was feted with the Distinguished Collaborator Award, Jeffrey Kurland was honored with the Career Achievement Award, illustrator Lois DeArmond received the Distinguished Service Award and Ret Turner was posthumously inducted into the guild’s Hall of Fame.

Predict the Oscar winners now; change them until February 26

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how their films are faring in our Oscar odds. You can keep changing your predictions right up until just before winners are announced on February 26 at 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.

More News from GoldDerby