‘Dancing with the Stars’ season 26 will be shortened and focus on all athletes: What do you think? [POLL]

The season 25 finale of “Dancing with the Stars” gave us the announcement we were expecting: Jordan Fisher won the Mirror Ball Trophy. But there was another major announcement that you might have missed if you weren’t paying attention. Host Tom Bergeron revealed that the spring season of “DWTS” would be abbreviated and feature only athletes. What do you think of that idea? Scroll down to vote in our poll at the bottom of this post.

Bergeron announced that the new season would last only four weeks — perhaps to make room for the return of “American Idol” on the spring schedule — but according to ABC it will nevertheless feature 10 contestants. And though an all-athlete edition is certainly a new twist, sports figures are no strangers to the ballroom and no strangers to the Mirror Ball Trophy. The athleticism required for competitive sports has been proven to translate well to the dance floor.

Four football players have won the competition: Emmitt Smith (season three), Hines Ward (season 12), Donald Driver (season 14), and Rashad Jennings (season 24). A pair of figure skaters also won: Kristi Yamaguchi (season six) and Meryl Davis (season 18). So did two gymnasts: Shawn Johnson (season eight) and Laurie Hernandez (season 23). Speed skater Apolo Anton Ohno took the prize in season four, while race car driver Helio Castroneves prevailed in season five. Altogether 10 out of 25 Mirror Ball champions have come from the world of sports, and now we’re guaranteed an 11th in the spring of 2018.

Are you looking forward to the new season of “Dancing with the Stars”? What sports celebs do you think should enter the ballroom?

More News from GoldDerby