Emmys 2017: In Memoriam to honor Mary Tyler Moore, Jerry Lewis, Don Rickles and at least 50 more TV legends

The special “In Memoriam” segment on the 2017 Emmy Awards ceremony will be especially tearful this year. Beloved television legends Mary Tyler MooreCarrie Fisher, Florence Henderson, Martin Landau, Jerry Lewis, Agnes Nixon, Bill Paxton, Debbie Reynolds, Don Rickles, Grant Tinker, and Adam West will certainly be just a few people honored with music from Christopher Jackson, Tony nominee for “Hamilton.”

Let’s take a look back at these icons as well as over 50 others who have died since mid-September last year. Many will be included in the memoriam for the live Emmys ceremony hosted by Stephen Colbert on September 17.

Moore starred in “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” winning 7 Emmy Awards in her career. She was inducted by the TV academy in their hall of fame in 1986 and received the SAG life achievement award in 2012. In addition to being an accomplished actress, she was also one of the co-founders of the industry’s powerful production company MTM in the 1970s.

Henderson will always be remembered as Carol Brady on the classic family comedy “The Brady Bunch.” She contributed to television for over five decades, from “The Today Show,” through TV movies, guest roles and more.

Fisher was best known for playing Princess Leia for the “Star Wars” films but occasionally had great moments on TV. She was a three-time Emmy nominee for her guest work on “30 Rock” (2008) and “Catastrophe” (2017), plus her variety special “Wishful Drinking” (2011).

Landau won an Academy Award for Best Supporting Actor in the film “Ed Wood” (1994) and received two other Oscar nominations for “Tucker: The Man and His Dream” (1988) and “Crimes and Misdemeanors” (1989). His long-running TV career was earlier than many of these movies and featured an Emmy-nominated role on the TV spy classic “Mission: Impossible.”

Although Lewis had a long stage career with comedy partner Dean Martin, they followed with a decade of popular movies. He was also well known on television for his variety specials and series, guest spots, and annually hosting the Muscular Dystrophy telethon. For his charitable works, he was given the Hersholt humanitarian award at the Oscars and Governors Award at the Emmys.

Nixon was a television writer and producer, best known as the creator of daytime dramas “All My Children,” “Loving,” and “One Life to Live.” She was inducted into the TV Hall of Fame in 1992.

Paxton is best known for his film roles but also had acclaim on TV. He also starred in the HBO drama series “Big Love,” which brought him three Golden Globe nominations for Best TV Drama Actor in 2007, 2008 and 2010. His television work in “Hatfields and McCoys” (2012) reaped a Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actor nomination at the Emmys and SAG Awards.

Rickles was a comedian and actor who was famous for his insults in his nightclub act, with Johnny Carson on “The Tonight Show,” and on the Dean Martin Celebrity Roasts. He became a voice-over favorite in the “Toy Story” films as Mr. Potato Head. He won an Emmy Award for his 2007 variety special “Mr. Warmth: The Don Rickles Project.”

Tinker was the co-founder of MTM Productions with his wife Mary Tyler Moore. They funded and produced many great shows of the 1970s and 1980s, including her own show, “The Bob Newhart Show,” “Hill Street Blues,” “St. Elsewhere,” and more. He then went on be the Chairman and CEO of NBC from 1981 to 1986. Tinker was inducted into TV Hall of Fame in 1997.

The acting career for West was defined by the 1960s campy role of “Batman” on ABC. After many guest parts on TV, he became known again to new audiences with his voice-over work on “Family Guy” and “Robot Chicken.”

In addition to the 10 people featured above, many of the following deserve inclusion in Sunday’s tribute:

Roger Ailes (executive)
Richard Anderson (actor)
Chuck Barris (producer/host)
Shelley Berman (actor/comedian)
Joseph Bologna (actor/writer)
Powers Boothe (actor)
Norman Brokaw (agent)
Glen Campbell (actor/singer/host)
William Christopher (actor)
Mike Connors (actor)
Kevin Curran (writer/producer)
Bill Dana (actor/comedian)
Jonathan Demme (director/producer)
Patti Deutsch (actor)
Nelsan Ellis (actor)
Miguel Ferrer (actor)
June Foray (actor)
Tommy Ford (actor)
Bernard Fox (actor)
Stephen Furst (actor)
Zsa Zsa Gabor (actor)
Dick Gautier (actor)
Gary Glasberg (writer/producer)
Ron Glass (actor)
Michael Gleason (writer/producer)
Don Gordon (actor)
Ed Greene (sound mixer)
Brad Grey (executive)
Tammy Grimes (actor)
Barbara Hale (actor)
Ricky Harris (actor)
Richard Hatch (actor)
John Heard (actor)
Glenne Headly (actor)
John Hurt (actor)
Gwen Ifill (journalist/host)
Clifton James (actor)
Claire Labine (writer/producer)
Marsh McCall (writer/producer)
Dina Merrill (actor)
Roger Moore (actor)
Erin Moran (actor)
Don Ohlmeyer (executive)
Robert Osborne (host)
Tim Pigott-Smith (actor)
Craig Sager (sports reporter)
Sam Shepard (actor)
Ed Sherin (director)
Roger Smith (actor)
Alan Thicke (actor)
Jay Thomas (actor)
Ron Thornton (visual effects)
Robert Vaughn (actor)
Frank Vincent (actor)
Joseph Wapner (host)
Fritz Weaver (actor)

More News from GoldDerby