2017 Emmy race for Best Comedy/Variety Stunt Coordination: A mere 22 programs contend

The Best Comedy/Variety Stunt Coordination category never receives many submissions. Best Comedy Series nominees like “black-ish,” “Master of None,” “Silicon Valley,” “Transparent” and “Veep” have never submitted for consideration; “Modern Family” was an inaugural nominee four years ago and has not submitted since. Hundreds of comedy series, children’s programs, short-form series, talk series, sketch series, special class programs and variety specials are eligible, but only 22 are the ballot this year, which is down from last year’s record 25. The nominees were:

“Shameless” has been nominated both times that it has entered; it toppled “Brooklyn Nine-Nine,” which has been nominated for all three of its seasons and won for its first two. Last year was the first that “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” was not nominated. A children’s series has been nominated each year — “Supah Ninjas” in 2013 (winner), “Sam & Cat” in 2014 and “K.C. Undercover” last year — except 2015, the one year that voting for this category was open to the performers’ and directors’ branches of the Television Academy in addition to the stunt coordinators’ branch.

Unlike most other categories in which candidates put forth single episodes for consideration, stunt coordinators submit chronological montages of up to five minutes that may include clips from all episodes that aired within the eligibility period and on which they were credited.

Submissions include:

  • “Angie Tribeca” seasons 2 & 3 (Erik Solky)
  • “Atlanta” season 1 (Andy Rusk)
  • “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” season 4 (Norman Howell)
  • “The Detour” season 2 (Anthony Vincent)
  • “Detroiters” season 1 (Ele Bardha)
  • “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia” season 12 (Mark Scizak)
  • “K.C. Undercover” season 2 (Jon H. Epstein)
  • “Santa Clarita Diet” season 1 (Ben Scott)
  • “Saturday Night Live” season 42 (Myles Humphus)
  • “Scream Queens” season 2 (Kanin Howell)
  • “A Series of Unfortunate Events” season 1 (Rick Pearce)
  • Pictured: “Shameless” season 7 (Eddie Perez)
  • “Trial & Error” season 1 (Jill Brown)
  • “Vice Principals” season 1 (Dino Muccio & John Copeman)

More News from GoldDerby