2017 Gold Derby TV Awards: What were the top 30 best drama episodes of the year?

The 2016-2017 TV season is over except for a few hanging episodes, so it’s almost time to vote for the Gold Derby TV Awards. But before that event opens we’re asking our forum posters to help determine the longlist candidates for Best Episode of the Year. Gold Derby honors the best dramatic episodes and the best comedic episodes of the television season. In the era of peak TV those races are more competitive than ever, so it’s more important than ever for you to vote to help us determine the top 30 drama episodes and the top 30 comedy episodes that will advance to the nominations round. Find out now how you can vote for your favorites.

The Leftovers” is the defending champ in the category, having prevailed last year for its surreal installment “International Assassin” written by Damon Lindelof and Nick Cuse and directed by Craig Zobel. It just aired its series finale on June 4, but the race is wide open in the absence of “Game of Thrones,” which won in 2013 (“The Rains of Castamere”) and 2015 (“Mother’s Mercy”) and picked up two nominations in the 2016 race (“Battle of the Bastards” and “The Winds of Winter”). “Thrones” didn’t air any new episodes this season (it doesn’t return until July), so that leaves two slots open going into this year’s competition. However, the rest of last year’s nominated shows are eligible to return — “The Americans” (“The Magic of David Copperfield V”), “Better Call Saul” (“Nailed”) and “Mr. Robot” (“eps1.0_hellofriend.mov”) — so high-profile new shows like “Stranger Things,” “The Crown,” “Westworld,” “This is Us,” “American Gods,” “The Handmaid’s Tale” and more may have their work cut out for them.

“Lost” is the all-time record-holder in the category, having prevailed five times out of its six seasons on the air (2005, 2007-2010). Take a look at the history of Best Drama Episode of the Year below and visit our forums to find out how vote for your favorites in this preliminary round.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Discuss the best TV of the season with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

2004: “The Sopranos” for “Long Term Parking” (Terence Winter, Timothy Van Patten) — combined category for dramas and comedies

2005: “Lost” for “Pilot” (J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Jeffrey Lieber)

2006: “Six Feet Under” for “Everyone’s Waiting” (Alan Ball)

2007: “Lost” for “Through the Looking Glass” (Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender)

2008: “Lost” for “The Constant” (Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender)

2009: “Lost” for “The Incident” (Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender)

2010: “Lost” for “The End” (Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cuse, Jack Bender)

2011-2012: No Award Given

2013: “Game of Thrones” for “The Rains of Castamere” (David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, David Nutter)

2014: “Breaking Bad” for “Ozymandias” (Moira Walley-Beckett, Rian Johnson)

2015: “Game of Thrones” for “Mother’s Mercy” (David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, David Nutter)

2016: “The Leftovers” for “International Assassin” (Damon Lindelof, Nick Cuse, Craig Zobel)

More News from GoldDerby