2017 Gold Derby TV Awards: What were the top 30 best comedy episodes of the year?

The 2016-2017 TV season is over except for a few hanging episodes, so it’s almost time to vote for the Gold Derby TV Awards. But before that event opens in our predictions center we’re asking our forum posters to help determine the longlist candidates for Best Episode of the Year. Gold Derby honors the best comedic episodes and the best dramatic episodes of the television season. In the era of peak TV those races are more competitive than ever, so it’s more important than ever for you to vote to help us determine the top 30 drama episodes and the top 30 comedy episodes that will advance to the nominations round. Find out now how you can vote for your favorites.

Veep” is the defending champion in this category. It won Best Comedy Episode last year for “Mother,” in which Selina Meyer (Julia Louis-Dreyfus) experienced mixed feelings over the death of a mother she hated. That episode also happened to win Louis-Dreyfus her fifth straight Emmy for Best Comedy Actress. “Veep” could be back in the running this year, as could the other four shows that earned bids in that race: “The Big Bang Theory” (“The Opening Night Excitation”), “Black-ish” (“Hope”), “Girls” (“Panic in Central Park”) and “Transparent” (“Man on the Land”). We could also see added to the mix returning shows like “Master of None,” “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” and “Silicon Valley,” or potential first-year nominees like “Atlanta,” “Insecure,” “Fleabag,” “The Good Place” and many more.

Unlike on the drama side, where “Lost” went on an extraordinary run of five wins in six years, this category has gone to a new show almost every year; “Desperate Housewives” was the only series to win twice. Take a look at the history of Best Comedy Episode of the Year below and visit our forums to find out how to vote for your favorites in this preliminary round.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Discuss the best TV of the season with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

2005: “Desperate Housewives” for “Pilot” (Marc Cherry, Charles McDougall)

2006: “Arrested Development” for “Development Arrested” (Richard Day, Mitchell Hurwitz, Chuck Tatham, Jim Vallely, John Fortenberry)

2007: “Desperate Housewives” for “Bang” (Joe Keenan, Larry Shaw)

2008: “Pushing Daisies” for “Pie-Lette” (Bryan Fuller, Barry Sonnenfeld)

2009: “The Office” for “Stress Relief” (Paul Lieberstein, Jeffrey Blitz)

2010: “Community” for “Modern Warfare” (Emily Cutler, Justin Lin)

2011-2012: No Award Given

2013: “30 Rock” for “Hogcock/Last Lunch” (Jack Burditt, Robert Carlock, Tina Fey, Tracey Wigfield, Beth McCarthy-Miller)

2014: “Orange is the New Black” for “Can’t Fix Crazy” (Tara Hermann, Jenji Kohan, Michael Trim)

2015: “Modern Family” for “Connection Lost” (Steven Levitan, Megan Ganz)

2016: “Veep” for “Mother” (Alex Gregory, Peter Huyck, Dale Stern)

More News from GoldDerby