Gold Derby TV Awards: Who gets your vote as Best Movie/Limited Series Actor?

Courtney B. Vance was a big winner last year at the Gold Derby TV Awards before he took home an Emmy Award as Best Movie/Limited Series Actor for “The People v. O.J. Simpson.” Who would get your vote for 2017? You can now select your nominees for the 14th Annual Gold Derby TV Awards, honoring the best TV during the eligibility period of June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017.

At last year’s ceremony, Vance defeated Bryan Cranston (“All the Way”), Idris Elba (“Luther”), Tom Hiddleston (“The Night Manager”), Oscar Isaac (“Show Me a Hero”), and Patrick Wilson (“Fargo”). He joined a long list of past winners throughout the history of the Gold Derby TV Awards in this same category, including David Oyelowo (“Nightingale,” 2015), Mark Ruffalo (“The Normal Heart,” 2014), Michael Douglas (“Behind the Candelabra,” 2013), Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock,” 2012), Edgar Ramirez (“Carlos,” 2011), Al Pacino (“You Don’t Know Jack,” 2010), Kevin Bacon (“Taking Chance,” 2009), Paul Giamatti (“John Adams,” 2008), Matthew Perry (“The Ron Clark Story,” 2007), Andre Braugher (“Thief,” 2006), Geoffrey Rush (“The Life and Death of Peter Sellers,” 2005), and Pacino (“Angels in America,” 2004).

We have 21 men available now as Best Movie/Limited Series Actor in our predictions center, and you can vote for your top three selections. Look over these names and help us decide the six nominees for this year:

Riz Ahmed (“The Night Of”)
Babou Ceesay (“Guerrilla”)
Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock”)
Robert De Niro (“The Wizard of Lies”)
Harvey Fierstein (“Hairspray Live”)
Laurence Fishburne (“Madiba”)
Michael Gambon (“Churchill’s Secret”)
Ricky Gervais (“David Brent: Life on the Road”)
Bryshere Y. Gray (“The New Edition Story”)
Jonathan Groff (“Looking: The Movie”)
Timothy Hutton (“American Crime”)
Toby Jones (“Witness for the Prosecution”)
Jude Law (“The Young Pope”)
Tim Matheson (“Killing Reagan”)
Ewan McGregor (“Fargo”)
Austin P. McKenzie (“When We Rise”)
Guy Pearce (“When We Rise”)
Tim Pigott-Smith (“King Charles III”)
Geoffrey Rush (“Genius”)
Jim Sturgess (“Close to the Enemy”)
John Turturro (“The Night Of”)

Nobody knows awards better than the experts, editors and users at Gold Derby, so we launched our own prizes for film in 2002 and for TV in 2004. Vote for your favorites in 30 categories for the Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations. You can rank your top three choices in all categories. Vote by clicking on a category, and then grab contenders one by one from the left column and add them to the right column by clicking on the green + symbol. Arrange in the order you choose to vote (#1 is your top choice). Grab each entry and move it up or down. You can vote now and edit your ballot as often as you like before voting ends at 11:59pm Eastern on July 23.  (See the photos at the bottom of this post for an illustration of the voting process.)

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Discuss the Emmys with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

1) Click “Make your predix here!” at the top of the Gold Derby page.

2) Click the green box next to “Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations.”

3) Select a category, add your favorite candidates from the left column to the right column, and save your top three choices.