Gold Derby TV Awards: Who is your favorite choice for Best Drama Actor?

Rami Malek paired up his first ever Emmy win last year with a victory for Best Drama Actor at our Gold Derby TV Awards. He won for his leading role on “Mr. Robot” and is eligible for a repeat trophy again this year. Who would get your vote for 2017? You can now select your nominees for the 14th Annual Gold Derby TV Awards, honoring the best TV during the eligibility period of June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017.

At last year’s ceremony, Malek defeated Freddie Highmore (“Bates Motel”), Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”), Matthew Rhys (“The Americans”), Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards”), and Justin Theroux (“The Leftovers”). He joined a long list of past winners throughout the history of the Gold Derby TV Awards in this same category, including Sam Heughan (“Outlander,” 2015), Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad,” 2009, 2012, 2013, 2014), Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” 2011), Michael C. Hall (“Dexter,” 2008, 2010), Hugh Laurie (“House,” 2006, 2007), and Kiefer Sutherland (“24,” 2004, 2005).

We have 47 men available now as Best Drama Actor in our predictions center, and you can vote for your top three selections. Look over these names and help us decide the six nominees for this year:

Richard Armitage (“Berlin Station”)
Pierce Brosnan (“The Son”)
Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”)
Peter Capaldi (“Doctor Who”)
Kyle Chandler (“Bloodline”)
Mike Colter (“Luke Cage”)
Dominic Cooper (“Preacher”)
Clayne Crawford (“Lethal Weapon”)
Hugh Dancy (“The Path”)
Michael Dorman (“Patriot”)
Travis Fimmel (“Vikings”)
Rupert Friend (“Homeland”)
Paul Giamatti (“Billions”)
Walton Goggins (“Six”)
Tom Hardy (“Taboo”)
Corey Hawkins (“24: Legacy”)
Freddie Highmore (“Bates Motel”)
Aldis Hodge (“Underground”)
Anthony Hopkins (“Westworld”)
Terrence Howard (“Empire”)
Hugh Laurie (“Chance”)
Damian Lewis (“Billions”)
Ray Liotta (“Shades of Blue”)
Rami Malek (“Mr. Robot”)
Ian McShane (“American Gods”)
Dylan Minnette (“13 Reasons Why”)
Wagner Moura (“Narcos”)
Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”)
Aaron Paul (“The Path”)
Giovanni Ribisi (“Sneaky Pete”)
Matthew Rhys (“The Americans”)
Liev Schreiber (“Ray Donovan”)
Michael Sheen (“Masters of Sex”)
Barry Sloane (“Six”)
Matt Smith (“The Crown”)
Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards”)
Dan Stevens (“Legion”)
Kiefer Sutherland (“Designated Survivor”)
Justin Theroux (“The Leftovers”)
Billy Bob Thornton (“Goliath”)
Aidan Turner (“Poldark”)
Milo Ventimiglia (“This Is Us”)
Damon Wayans (“Lethal Weapon”)
Titus Welliver (“Bosch”)
Dominic West (“The Affair”)
Ricky Whittle (“American Gods”)
Aden Young (“Rectify”)

Nobody knows awards better than the experts, editors and users at Gold Derby, so we launched our own prizes for film in 2002 and for TV in 2004. Vote for your favorites in 30 categories for the Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations. You can rank your top three choices in all categories. Vote by clicking on a category, and then grab contenders one by one from the left column and add them to the right column by clicking on the green + symbol. Arrange in the order you choose to vote (#1 is your top choice). Grab each entry and move it up or down. You can vote now and edit your ballot as often as you like before voting ends at 11:59pm Eastern on July 23.  (See the photos at the bottom of this post for an illustration of the voting process.)

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Discuss the Emmys with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums


1) Click “Make your predix here!” at the top of the Gold Derby page.

gold derby awards voting instructions

2) Click the green box next to “Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations.”

gold derby awards voting instructions

3) Select a category, add your favorite candidates from the left column to the right column, and save your top three choices.

gold derby awards voting instructions

More News from GoldDerby