Gold Derby TV Awards: Who should be voted as Best Comedy Actor?

Jeffrey Tambor is the two-time defending champion for Best Comedy Actor at both the Emmy Awards and the Gold Derby TV Awards. For our own contest this year, will the “Transparent” star make it three in a row, or will someone rise up to challenge him? You can now vote for nominees for the 14th Annual Gold Derby TV Awards, honoring the best TV during the eligibility period of June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017.

At last year’s ceremony, Tambor defeated Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”), Aziz Ansari (“Master of None”), Will Forte (“The Last Man on Earth”), Thomas Middleditch (“Silicon Valley”), and Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”). He joined these past category winners in the history of the Gold Derby TV Awards: Parsons (2010, 2012, 2014), Jake Johnson (“New Girl,” 2013), Steve Carell (“The Office,” 2006, 2009, 2011), Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock,” 2008, 2009), and Jason Bateman (“Arrested Development,” 2004, 2005).

We have 38 men available now as Best Comedy Actor in our predictions center, and you can vote for your top three selections. Look over these names and help us decide the six nominees for this year:

Anthony Anderson (“Black-ish”)
Aziz Ansari (“Master of None”)
Fred Armisen (“Portlandia”)
Hank Azaria (“Brockmire”)
Kevin Bacon (“I Love Dick”)
Gael Garcia Bernal (“Mozart in the Jungle”)
John Ross Bowie (“Speechless”)
Bruce Campbell (“Ash vs. Evil Dead”)
Thomas Haden Church (“Divorce”)
Ted Danson (“The Good Place”)
Rob Delaney (“Catastrophe”)
Hugh Davidson (“Nobodies”)
Tommy Dewey (“Casual”)
Larry Dorf (“Nobodies”)
Billy Eichner (“Difficult People”)
Will Forte (“The Last Man on Earth”)
Zach Galifianakis (“Baskets”)
Chris Geere (“You’re the Worst”)
Donald Glover (“Atlanta”)
Bill Hader (“Documentary Now”)
Neil Patrick Harris (“Series of Unfortunate Events”)
John Michael Higgins (“Great News”)
Pete Holmes (“Crashing”)
Jason Jones (“The Detour”)
Dan Levy (“Schitt’s Creek”)
William H. Macy (“Shameless”)
Danny McBride (“Vice Principals”)
Thomas Middleditch (“Silicon Valley”)
Nick Nolte (“Graves”)
Timothy Olyphant (“Santa Clarita Diet”)
Randall Park (“Fresh Off the Boat”)
Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”)
Greg Poehler (“You Me Her”)
Paul Rust (“Love”)
Andy Samberg (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”)
Martin Short (“Maya and Marty”)
Patrick Stewart (“Blunt Talk”)
Jeffrey Tambor (“Transparent”)

Nobody knows awards better than the experts, editors and users at Gold Derby, so we launched our own prizes for film in 2002 and for TV in 2004. Vote for your favorites in 30 categories for the Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations. You can rank your top three choices in all categories. Vote by clicking on a category, and then grab contenders one by one from the left column and add them to the right column by clicking on the green + symbol. Arrange in the order you choose to vote (#1 is your top choice). Grab each entry and move it up or down. You can vote now and edit your ballot as often as you like before voting ends at 11:59pm Eastern on July 23.  (See the photos at the bottom of this post for an illustration of the voting process.)

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Discuss the Emmys with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums


1) Click “Make your predix here!” at the top of the Gold Derby page.

gold derby awards voting instructions

2) Click the green box next to “Gold Derby TV Awards 2017 Nominations.”

gold derby awards voting instructions

3) Select a category, add your favorite candidates from the left column to the right column, and save your top three choices.

gold derby awards voting instructions

More News from GoldDerby