Margaret Cho shouts ‘F*** Donald Trump!’ at Grammy Awards after losing Best Comedy Album

Something tells us Margaret Cho won’t be invited to the White House anytime soon. After losing the 2017 Grammy Award for Best Comedy Album, Cho, who was hosting the live online Premiere Ceremony, said that she was going to give her acceptance speech anyway. “F*** Donald Trump!” she shouted into the microphone, as many in attendance cheered her on.

Cho is no stranger to political humor, having been nominated for an Emmy Award in 2012 for playing Kim Jong-il on “30 Rock.” But this is the first time she actually used such strong language in a live public setting. Did the comedian go too far? Let us know in the comments section below.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Patton Oswalt (“Talking for Clapping”) won the Grammy for Best Comedy Album, beating out Cho (“American Myth”), David Cross (“…America…Great…”), Tig Notaro (“Boyish Girl Interrupted”) and Amy Schumer (“Live at the Apollo”). Oswalt gave a passionate acceptance speech at the podium, saying that Cho and Cross helped influence him in his early days while Notaro and Schumer keep him going strong.

After Oswalt left the stage, Cho later returned to introduce the next presenter, and that’s when she went after President Trump. This is Cho’s second nomination at the Grammy Awards after earning a bid for “Cho Dependent” in 2013; she lost that time to Jimmy Fallon (“Blow Your Pants Off”).

Grammy Album of the Year: All 58 Winners in Music History

Other early notable winners at the 2017 Grammy Awards included Adele (Best Pop Solo Performance and Best Pop Vocal Album), Beyonce (Best Music Video), David Bowie (Best Alternative Music Album and Best Rock Performance), Carol Burnett (Best Spoken Word Album), The Chainsmokers feat. Daya (Best Dance Recording), Chance the Rapper feat. Lil Wayne and 2 Chainz (Best Rap Performance), Drake (Best Rap/Sung Performance and Best Rap Song), Ziggy Marley (Best Reggae Album), Maxwell (Best R&B Song), Tim McGraw (Best Country Song), Megadeth (Best Metal Performance), Willie Nelson (Best Traditional Pop Album), Pentatonix feat. Dolly Parton (Best Country Duo/Group Performance), Sturgill Simpson (Best Country Album), Solange (Best R&B Performance), Justin Timberlake (Best Song Written for Visual Media) and John Williams (Best Score Soundtrack for Visual Media). See full list of Grammy winners.

More News from GoldDerby