ICG Publicist Awards to honor Denzel Washington, Ryan Murphy, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Nanci Ryder

On the Friday before the Oscars, the strategists behind many of the top campaigns will gather at the Beverly Hilton for the 54th annual ICG Publicist Awards. This year’s gathering will include four special presentations: Jeffrey Katzenberg is to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, Denzel Washington and Ryan Murphy will receive the Showman of the Year prizes for film and TV respectively and B|W|R Public Relations co-founder Nanci Ryder is to be feted with the President’s Award.

Among the talent tapped to make these presentations are: Oscar winner Renee Zellweger, Oscar nominee Kate Hudson, Emmy winner Sarah Paulson and SAG-AFTRA President Gabrielle Carteris.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

In addition, there are seven competitive awards, including one for individual publicists, two for studio efforts, two for photographers and two for the press.

Nominees for the Les Mason Award, the highest honor that publicists can bestow on one of their own, are:

Barbara Hannegan, Senior Publicist, Warner Bros. Pictures International
William Hendley, Senior Publicist – Global Publicity, The Walt Disney Studios
Ernie Malik, Unit Publicist
Maureen O’Malley, Senior Publicist and Project Supervisor, Warner Bros. Pictures International
Rosalind Jarrett Sepulveda, Executive in Charge of Publicity, Screen Actors Guild Awards

Nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Motion Picture Award are:

20th Century Fox for “Deadpool”
Columbia Pictures for “Sausage Party”
Universal Pictures for “The Secret Life of Pets”
The Walt Disney Studios for “The Jungle Book”
Warner Bros. Pictures for “Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them”

Nominees for the Maxwell Weinberg Publicist Showmanship Television Award are:

CBS Television for “The Late Late Show with James Corden”
Fox 21 Television Studios for “The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story”
20th Century Fox Television for “Speechless”
20th Century Fox for “This Is Us”

Join in the fierce debate about the Oscar contenders
going on right now in our red-hot forums

Nominees for the Press Award are:

Debra Birnbaum – Executive Editor – Television, Variety
Grae Drake – Senior Editor, Rotten Tomatoes
Lindsey Bahr – Film Writer, Associated Press
Sean Smith – Executive Editor – Film, Entertainment Weekly
Steve Weintraub – Editor-in-Chief, Collider

Nominees for the International Media Award are:

Michael Idato (Australia)
Peter Mitchell (Australia)
Jane Mulkerrins (UK)
Elisabeth Serada (Austria)
Brent Simon (China)
Adam Tanswell (UK)

Nominees for the Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Motion Pictures Award are:

Andrew Schwartz
Claire Folger
Jaap Buitendijk
Murray Close
Niko Tavernise

Nominees for the Excellence in Unit Still Photography for Television Award are:

Beth Dubber
Jessica Miglio
John Johnson
Justin Lubin
Kevin Estrada

Predict the Oscar winners now; change them till February 26

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how their films are faring in our Oscar odds. You can keep changing your predictions right up until just before winners are announced on February 26 at 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.

More News from GoldDerby