Mary Tyler Moore dead at 80: Comedy legend won 7 Emmy Awards

Television legend Mary Tyler Moore is dead at age 80 after an extended illness. She died in Connecticut on Wednesday a few hours after TMZ reported that the star of “The Dick Van Dyke Show” and “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” was gravely ill. The comedy icon was a seven-time Emmy Award winner and inducted by the TV academy in their hall of fame in 1986.

Celebrity Deaths 2017: In Memoriam Photo Gallery

Her seven Emmy victories tie her for second place all-time for performance wins with her former co-star Edward Asner and Allison Janney. They are just one behind eight-time primetime winner Cloris Leachman, also a previous co-star on her CBS series.

In addition to being an accomplished actress, she was also one of the co-founders of the industry’s powerful production company MTM in the 1970s. Along with her then-husband Grant Tinker, who died recently on November 28, their company produced her own program along with “The Bob Newhart Show,” “Rhoda,” “Lou Grant,” “The White Shadow,” “WKRP in Cincinnati,” “Hill Street Blues,” “St. Elsewhere,” and many others.

In addition to her television work, Moore was an Oscar nominee for Best Actress in “Ordinary People” (1980) and won the Golden Globe for that role. Other films included “Thoroughly Modern Millie,” “Change of Habit,” “Just Between Friends,” and “Flirting with Disaster.” She was honored with the Screen Actors Guild life achievement award in 2012.

SAG Awards: Who will be featured in Memoriam segment?

But it is her TV career that will be most remembered. Her first two Emmy Awards were for Best Comedy Actress in “The Dick Van Dyke Show” (1964, 1966). She then won three times in the same category for “The Mary Tyler Moore Show” (1973, 1974, 1976) and for the defunct Actress of the Year category in 1974. Her final victory was as Best TV Movie/Miniseries Supporting Actress in “Stolen Babies” (1993). Her starring vehicle won as Best Comedy Series in 1975, 1976 and 1977, but she was not a producer on the series and did not receive trophies herself.

More News from GoldDerby