How has Nicole Kidman never won a SAG Award before, and will ‘Lion’ finally bring her a trophy this year?

How has Nicole Kidman never won a Screen Actors Guild Award despite eight previous nominations and an Academy Award on her shelf? Will her latest film “Lion” finally bring her a trophy this year from SAG voters on a ninth attempt? The Aussie Oscar winner has a Best Supporting Actress nomination for playing Sue Brierley, the adoptive mother of a young Indian boy who got lost in the streets of Calcutta, thousands of miles away from home.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

The actress won an Oscar for playing Virginia Woolf in “The Hours” (2002), but lost that year at SAG to Renee Zellweger in “Chicago.” That movie’s cast also beat her bid for Best Ensemble. Her other SAG nominations and results:

Best Film Ensemble for “Moulin Rouge!” (2001); lost to “Gosford Park”

Best Film Ensemble for “Nine” (2009); lost to “Inglourious Basterds”

Best Film Actress for “Rabbit Hole” (2010); lost to Natalie Portman (“Black Swan”)

Best Film Supporting Actress for “The Paperboy” (2012); lost to Anne Hathaway (“Les Miserables”)

Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actress for “Hemingway and Gellhorn” (2012); lost to Julianne Moore (“Game Change”)

Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actress for “Grace of Monaco” (2016); lost to Queen Latifah (“Bessie”)

Related: Watch our interview with Nicole Kidman (‘Lion’)

At SAG this year, Kidman competes in the Supporting Actress category against Viola Davis (“Fences”), Naomie Harris (“Moonlight”), Octavia Spencer (“Hidden Figures”), and Michelle Williams (“Manchester by the Sea”). Right now, the odds-on favorite is four-time SAG champ Davis, who just won the Golden Globe and Critics Choice prizes for “Fences.” Yet the fact that Kidman has never won a SAG Award, despite having an Oscar, could work in her favor.

Since they started giving out awards in the 1994 cycle, the Screen Actors Guild has often tried to play catch-up with past Oscar winners. Their first year, in fact, they rewarded Jodie Foster for “Nell” (1994), perhaps as a way of making good on her previous Oscar victories for “The Accused” (1988) and “The Silence of the Lambs” (1991) — she ultimately lost the Oscar to Jessica Lange in “Blue Sky.” Later SAG honorees like Kathy Bates (“Primary Colors”), Robert Duvall (“A Civil Action”), Christopher Walken (“Catch Me if You Can”), and Meryl Streep (“Doubt”) made good on past Academy Award wins to prevail at the guild, even though those SAG-winning roles didn’t ultimately translate to the Oscars.

Related: Watch our interview with Dev Patel (‘Lion’)

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions. How do you think “Lion” will do with academy voters? Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how this film is faring in our Oscar odds. You can keep changing your predictions right up until just before nominations are announced on January 24 at 5:00 am PT/8:00 am ET. Be sure to read our contest rules. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.

More News from GoldDerby