Olivier Awards: Complete list of nominations led by ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’

Nominations for the 41st annual edition of the Olivier Awards were announced on Monday (March 6). Winners will be revealed in ceremony at London’s Royal Albert Hall on April 9. Unlike the Tony Awards, which are showcased live on CBS, the Olivier Awards get only a clips package on ITV later that evening and a live feed on BBC Radio 2.

In making the announcement Julian Bird, who runs the presenting organization (Society of London Theatre), said, “In a year of global change, the nominees for this year’s awards demonstrate London theatre’s ability to challenge our perceptions, stir our emotions and entertain us. From new British play and musicals, to reinventions of well-known titles, the Oliviers proudly celebrate an extraordinary range of acting and creative talent.”

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news


Best Play
The Flick
Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
One Night In Miami

Best Play Revival
The Glass Menagerie
This House

Best Comedy
The Comedy About A Bank Robbery
Nice Fish
Our Ladies Of Perpetual Succour
The Truth

Best Actor
Ed Harris for Buried Child
Tom Hollander for Travesties
Ian McKellen for No Man’s Land
Jamie Parker for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

Best Actress
Glenda Jackson for King Lear
Cherry Jones for The Glass Menagerie
Billie Piper for Yerma
Ruth Wilson for Hedda Gabler

Best Supporting Actor 
Anthony Boyle for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Freddie Fox for Travesties
Brian J. Smith for The Glass Menagerie
Rafe Spall for Hedda Gabler

Best Supporting Actress 
Melissa Allan, Caroline Deyga, Kirsty Findlay, Karen Fishwick, Kirsty MacLaren, Frances Mayli McCann, Joanne McGuinness and Dawn Sievewright for Our Ladies Of Perpetual Succour
Noma Dumezweni for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Clare Foster for Travesties
Kate O’Flynn for The Glass Menagerie

Best Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre
Cuttin’ It at The Maria, Young Vic
The Government Inspector at Theatre Royal Stratford East
The Invisible Hand at Tricycle Theatre
It Is Easy To Be Dead at Trafalgar Studios 2
Rotterdam at Trafalgar Studios 2

Dish the Oliviers with theater insiders in our notorious forums


Best Musical
The Girls
Groundhog Day
School Of Rock The Musical

Best Musical Revival
Funny Girl
Jesus Christ Superstar
Show Boat
Sunset Boulevard

Best Actor
David Fynn for School Of Rock The Musical
Tyrone Huntley for Jesus Christ Superstar
Andy Karl for Groundhog Day
Charlie Stemp for Half A Sixpence

Best Actress
Glenn Close for Sunset Boulevard
“The Girls” – Debbie Chazen, Sophie-Louise Dann, Michele Dotrice, Claire Machin, Claire Moore and Joanna Riding – for The Girls
Amber Riley for Dreamgirls
Sheridan Smith for Funny Girl

Best Supporting Actor
Ian Bartholomew for Half A Sixpence
Adam J Bernard for Dreamgirls
Ben Hunter for The Girls
Andrew Langtree for Groundhog Day

Best Supporting Actress
Haydn Gwynne for The Threepenny Opera
Victoria Hamilton-Barritt for Murder Ballad
Rebecca Trehearn for Show Boat
Emma Williams for Half A Sixpence


Best Director
Simon Stone for Yerma at Young Vic
John Tiffany for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child at Palace Theatre
John Tiffany for The Glass Menagerie at Duke of York’s Theatre
Matthew Warchus for Groundhog Day at The Old Vic

Best Choreographer
Matthew Bourne for The Red Shoes
Peter Darling and Ellen Kane for Groundhog Day
Steven Hoggett for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Drew McOnie for Jesus Christ Superstar

Best Costume Design
Gregg Barnes for Dreamgirls
Hugh Durrant for Cinderella
Rob Howell for Groundhog Day
Katrina Lindsay for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

Best Lighting Design
Neil Austin for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Lee Curran for Jesus Christ Superstar
Natasha Katz for The Glass Menagerie
Hugh Vanstone for Groundhog Day

Best Set Design
Bob Crowley for Disney’s Aladdin
Bob Crowley for The Glass Menagerie
Rob Howell for Groundhog Day
Christine Jones for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

Best Sound Design
Paul Arditti for Amadeus
Adam Cork for Travesties
Gareth Fry for Harry Potter And The Cursed Child
Nick Lidster for Autograph for Jesus Christ Superstar

Best Achievement in Music
Dreamgirls – Music by Henry Krieger
Harry Potter And The Cursed Child – Composer and Arranger: Imogen Heap
Jesus Christ Superstar – The band and company
School Of Rock The Musical – Three children’s bands


Best New Dance Production
Betroffenheit by Crystal Pite and Jonathon Young
Blak Whyte Gray by Boy Blue Entertainment
Giselle by Akram Khan and English National Ballet
My Mother, My Dog And CLOWNS! by Michael Clark

Best Achievement in Dance
Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater for their London season at Sadler’s Wells
Luke Ahmet for The Creation by Rambert at Sadler’s Wells
English National Ballet for expanding the variety of their repertoire with Giselle and She Said at Sadler’s Wells

Best Opera Production
4.48 Psychosis
Così Fan Tutte

Best Achievement in Opera
Renée Fleming for her performance in Der Rosenkavalie
Stuart Skelton for his performance in Tristan And Isolde
Mark Wigglesworth for his conducting of Don Giovanni and Lulu

Best Family Entertainment
Cinderella at London Palladium
David Baddiel – My Family: Not The Sitcom at Vaudeville Theatre
Peter Pan at National Theatre
The Red Shoes at Sadler’s Wells

More News from GoldDerby