SAG Awards 2018 set for January 21: Timeline and deadlines

The Screen Actors Guild has carved out its place on the next awards season calendar by setting Sunday, January 21, 2018 as the date for the 24th annual edition of its awards. TNT and TBS will once again simulcast the ceremony beginning at 5 p.m.PT/ 8 p.m. ET.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

The 2017 SAG Awards was a hit for the cablecasters, with a combined audience of 5 million viewers, which was up by 33% from the previous year. It did particularly well with the advertiser-friendly 18-49 demographic by increasing that audience by 50%; it was up by 45% with the 18-34 crowd.

The first step in the awards process is the random selection of the nominating committees for both film and television. That will be done on March 13, with members notified by mail one week later. Voters will have until April 14 to let the guild know if they want to take part.

Dish movies with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

The submission site opens for business on July 10 and closes on Oct. 23. Nomination balloting begins on November 16 and closes on December 10. Nominations will be announced on Dec. 13 and final voting kicks off on January 5. Voting lasts for two weeks and winner will be revealed two days after that Jan. 19 deadline.


More News from GoldDerby