‘Saturday Night Live’ takedowns of Trump and Clinton could win it Emmy for writing

Saturday Night Live” is coming off its most popular seasons in recent years and scored 22 Emmy nominations tying freshman drama series “Westworld” as the most nominated series. “SNL” owes much of its buzz to the current political climate and its continuing commentary on President Donald Trump. This late-night staple is predicted to finally win a third series Emmy and could also pick up its fifth win for Best Variety Writing.

Despite a staggering 25 bids over the years, “SNL” has only won the writing award four times. It got off to a great start, picking up the prize in 1976 and 1977 for its first and second seasons. It then had to endure an 11-year drought would go 12 years before reclaiming the writing Emmy in 1989. Then it was a another 13 years before the writers room led by Tina Fey returned to the winner’s circle.

Besides those winning years, “Saturday Night Live” also contended in 1978-1980, 1984, 1987, 1990-1993, 2001, 2003, 2008-2013 and 2016. “SNL” has almost an equal number of snubs being dropped from the lineup 19 times: 1981-1983, 1985-1986, 1988, 1994-2000, 2004-2007, and 2014-2015.

Hoping to keep the “Saturday Night Live” team from winning are those from “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee,” “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver,” “Late Night with Seth Meyers” and “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.” Those four talk shows could split the vote giving “SNL” its fifth win in this race.

A staggering 30 scribes are contending for their work on “SNL”: Chris Kelly, Head Writer, Sarah Schneider, Head Writer, Kent Sublette, Head Writer, Bryan Tucker, Head Writer, Pete Schultz, Weekend Update Head Writer, James Anderson, Kristen Bartlett, Jeremy Beiler, Zack Bornstein, Joanna Bradley, Megan Callahan, Michael Che, Anna Drezen, Fran Gillespie, Sudi Green, Steve Higgins, Colin Jost, Erik Kenward. Rob Klein, Nick Kocher, Dave McCary, Brian McElhaney, Dennis McNicholas, Drew Michael, Lorne Michaels, Josh Patten, Katie Rich, Streeter Seidell, Will Stephen and Julio Torres.

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our Emmy odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before winners are announced on September 17. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Emmys taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our TV forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby