‘SNL’ announces remaining season 42 guest hosts: Who will do the best — Melissa McCarthy, Chris Pine? [POLL]

Saturday Night Live” has announced that it will go live across all time zones for the first time ever starting on April 15, but just as importantly, we now know which hosts will finish out season 42 of the late-night sketch comedy series: Jimmy Fallon (April 15), Chris Pine (May 6), Melissa McCarthy (May 13) and Dwayne Johnson (May 20). Before that Louis C.K. will guest host in April 8. but who will do the best? Vote in our poll at the bottom of this post.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Louis C.K. has hosted “SNL” three times before (2012, 2014, 2015) and earned three consecutive Emmy nominations for Best Comedy Guest Actor for his efforts. He has won an impressive six Emmys over the course of his career thus far, but they have all been for writing. He has yet to win for an acting performance.

Jimmy Fallon spent six years on “SNL” as a regular cast member (1998-2004). Since then he has found success as the host of “Late Night” and now “The Tonight Show,” and he has returned to the sketch comedy series twice before as a host (2011, 2013), winning Best Comedy Guest Actor Emmys for both gigs.

‘Saturday Night Live’ will finally air live across all time zones

Chris Pine will be hosting “SNL” for the first time in his career, so he may be the most highly anticipated question mark. He’s coming off of his starring role in the Oscar nominated western “Hell or High Water,” and in June he’ll be seen opposite Gal Gadot in the “Wonder Woman” movie. Pine is a past Emmy nominee, though, picking up a bid in 2016 for his voice-over performance in “SuperMansion.”‘

Melissa McCarthy will be highly anticipated for another reason. She has hosted four times before (2011, 2013, 2014, 2016), so this year she will be joining the five-timers club. On top of that, she has been a watercooler sensation on “SNL” this season for her guest appearances playing White House press secretary Sean Spicer. She has been nominated for an Emmy every single time she has hosted “SNL,” but she has yet to win for it, though she did claim Best Comedy Actress in 2011 for her CBS sitcom “Mike & Molly.”

‘SNL’ Season 42: ‘Saturday Night Live’s’ Guest Host Gallery

Former professional wrestler Dwayne Johnson will also be joining the five-timers club. He previously hosted “SNL” in 2000, 2002, 2009 and 2015. But he has never been nominated for an Emmy. This year he has two films opening within about a month of each other: “The Fate of the Furious” (April 14), the seventh sequel in the “Fast and the Furious” franchise, and “Baywatch” (May 26), a comedy inspired by the campy TV series of the same name.

So who do you think will do the best of this season’s remaining hosts? Vote below, and join the discussion with your fellow TV fanatics in our famous forums.

Predict the Emmy nominees now; change them until July 13

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our Emmy odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on July 13. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Emmys taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our TV forums.

More News from GoldDerby