Tony Awards: Baayork Lee to receive Isabelle Stevenson Award on June 11

This year’s recipients of the Isabelle Stevenson Tony Award is  director, actress and choreographer Baayork Lee. This honor, named for the late president of the American Theatre Wing, is presented annually to a member of the theater community who has made a substantial contribution of volunteered time and effort on behalf of one or more humanitarian, social service or charitable organizations. Lee, who is being recognized for her work with the National Asian Artists Project, will be feted at the Tony Awards on June 11.

Can Bette Midler and company break the ‘Hello, Dolly!’ Tony Awards curse?

In making the announcement, American Theatre Wing president Heather Hitchens and Broadway League president Charlotte St. Martin said, “Baayork works tirelessly to break down cultural walls that often build up around what theatre goers consider ‘traditional’ musicals, and her dedication to fostering the next generation of performers and theatre professionals to do the same is exemplary.”

Drama Desk Awards nominations: Full list led by ‘Hello, Dolly!’

Lee is best known for creating the role of “Connie” in A Chorus Line, as well as serving as Michael Bennett’s assistant choreographer on the production, of which she has directed and choreographed many national and international companies. Her other directing and choreography credits  include “The King and I,” “Bombay Dreams,” “Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella,” “Barnum,” “Gypsy” and “A New Brain.”

Predict the Tony Awards nominees now; change them until May 2

Be sure to make your Tony Awards predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Broadway insiders can see how their shows and performers are faring in our Tony odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on May 2. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Tony Awards taking place right now in our theater forums.

More News from GoldDerby