Tony Awards: Meet the 51 people who decided the nominations

While the Oscars, Emmys and Grammys canvass their entire memberships for nominations, the Tony Awards rely on 51 theater folk who attend all the shows that open on Broadway in a season. This hardy lot met on the last weekend in April to cast secret ballots in 24 competitive categories. These nominations were unveiled on May 2 (see the full list of Tony Awards nominees). The 71st Annual Tony Awards take place on June 11.

Each member serves for three years, with approximately one-third of the committee new to the process each year (as denoted by *)

Academics (1)
Ravi S. Rajan – Dean, School of the Arts – SUNY Purchase

Actors (6)
Adrian Bailey – Actor
Harvey Evans – Actor
Jessica Molaskey – Actor*
Debra Monk – Actor
Paige Price – Actor/1st Vice President of AEA/Executive Artistic Director, Theatre Aspen*
Jessica Stone – Actor/ Director*

Artistic Directors (7)
Paul Cremo – Dramaturg/Director of Opera Commissioning Program, The Metropolitan Opera
Patricia Cruz – Executive Director, Harlem Stage/Aaron Davis Hall, Inc.*
Edgar Dobie – Executive Producer, Arena Stage – Washington, DC*
Scott Elliott – Director/Artistic Director, The New Group*
Lou Jacob – Director/Chair of the MFA Directing Program at the New School for Drama
Anne Keefe – Associate Artist, Westport Country Playhouse*
Christian Parker – Assoc. Artistic Dir. at Atlantic Theater Co./Chair, Columbia MFA Theatre Program

2017 Tony Awards nominations: Full list in all 24 categories

Choreographers (1)
Hope Clarke – Choreographer

Composers (5)
Sean Patrick Flahaven – Writer/Composer/Orchestrator/Conductor/Producer
Adam Gwon – Composer/Lyricist
Michael John LaChiusa – Composer, Lyricist, Librettist*
Tom Kitt – Composer
Laurence O’Keefe – Composer

Designers (5)
Paul Gallo – Lighting Designer
Tony Meola – Sound Designer*
Roger Morgan – Lighting Designer/Theatre Designer
Wynn Thomas – Production Designer
Jennifer von Mayrhauser – Costume Designer

Tony Awards nominations:
‘Great Comet’ soars with 12, ‘Hello, Dolly! lands 10

Directors (4)
Trip Cullman – Director
Susan H. Schulman – Director/President, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society
Warner Shook – Director
Evan Yionoulis – Director*

Critics/Journalists (1)
Jose Antonio Vargas – Journalist/Filmmaker/Founder of Define American *

Government Agencies/Non-Profits (7)
Victoria Bailey – Executive Director, Theatre Development Fund
Jenny Gersten – Executive Director, Friends of the High Line
Sam Gonzalez – Dir. of Operations, Pfizer Medical/Board of Trustees Playwrights Horizons
Reynold Levy – Former President of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts
Arlene Shuler – President & CEO, New York City Center
Ellen Sorrin – Director, The George Balanchine Trust*
Preston Whiteway – Executive Director, The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with
experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Other Creatives (3)
Roy Harris – Production Stage Manager
Peter Hedges – Writer*
Patricia Marx – American Humorist and Writer/Former Television Writer

Other (5)
Fran Kumin – Consultant – Perf. Arts Organizations/Foundations/University Theatre Programs**
Kate Levin – Cultural Assets Management Principal, Bloomberg Associates
Jim McLaughlin – Former Producer, CBS News
Katherine Oliver – Media and Entertainment Principal, Bloomberg Associates
Tom Watson – Retired Executive, Television Advertising

Playwrights (2)
Daniel Goldfarb – Playwright / Book writer
Paul Rudnick – Playwright, Novelist, Screenwriter, Essayist*

Producers (4)
Luis Castro – Media and Entertainment Executive/Producer*
Mara Isaacs – Founder and Director, Octopus Theatricals, LLC*
Mikki Shepard – Executive Producer, The Apollo Theatre*
Edward Strong – Producer

Dish the Tony Award with Broadway insiders in our notorious forums

More News from GoldDerby