Tony Awards: What time does the show start, who will win, who hosts?

The 71st annual edition of the Tony Awards will be telecast on CBS tonight (Sunday, June 11) at 8 p.m. PT and ET. While the kudocast will go out live to TV viewers on the east coast, the show will be delayed for west coast fans. The ceremony takes place at Radio City Music Hall in Manhattan, just blocks away from Broadway, and will be hosted by Oscar and Tony winner Kevin Spacey.

We are predicting that “Dear Evan Hansen” will win five Tony Awards, including the coveted prize of Best Musical. Another new tuner, “Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812,” will take four while the revival of the 1964 Best Musical champ “Hello, Dolly!” will also claim five, including one for Bette Midler. (See the full list of predicted Tony Awards winners.)

On the play front, no show will win more than two awards. “Oslo” is tipped to take Best Play (and director) while its closest rival, “A Doll’s House Part 2,” will finally win leading lady Laurie Metcalf a Tony after three losses. And while Kevin Kline looks like a lock to pick up his third Tony, his showcase, “Present Laughter,” is likely to lose the revival race to “Jitney.”

There will be performances from the four Best Musical nominees (“Come From Away,” “Dear Evan Hansen,” “Groundhog Day” and “Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812” ) and the three Best Musical Revival contenders (“Falsettos,” “Hello, Dolly!” and “Miss Saigon”).

Dish the Tony Awards with Broadway insiders in our notorious forums

The Tonys have tapped EGOT winner Whoopi Goldberg, who hosted these awards in 2008, to present a prize as well as Oscar and Emmy winner Sally Field, who is a Tony nominee this year for her acclaimed performance in “The Glass Menagerie.”

Among the Emmy winners who will hand out these top theater honors are Glenn CloseStephen Colbert, Tina Fey, Allison Janney, John Lithgow, Bette Midler and Sarah Paulson. And past Tony champs returning include Cynthia Erivo, Sutton Foster, Scarlett Johansson, Patina Miller, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Lea Salonga and Tommy Tune.

Also slated to appear are Scott Bakula, Sara Bareilles, Orlando Bloom, Rachel Bloom, Brian d’Arcy James, Josh Gad, Josh Groban, Jonathan Groff, Mark Hamill, Taraji P. Henson, Christopher Jackson, Anna Kendrick, Keegan-Michael Key, Nick Kroll, John Legend, John Mulaney, David Oyelowo, Chazz Palminteri, Ben Platt, Tom Sturridge and Olivia Wilde.

Predict the Tony Awards winners now; change them until June 11

Be sure to make your Tony Awards predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Broadway insiders can see how their shows and performers are faring in our Tony odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before winners are announced on June 11. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Tony Awards taking place right now in our theater forums.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with
experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

More News from GoldDerby