‘Transformers: The Last Knight’ could win Oscars and Razzies

“Transformers: The Last Knight,” the fifth and (hopefully) final film in the franchise opened this weekend to bad reviews but boffo box office. While the critics have never warmed to these popcorn pictures helmed by Michael Bay, the notices for this outing were particularly savage. However, they didn’t keep people from flocking to theaters and the movie made $250 million worldwide.

Despite all these scathing reviews (it merits a mere 15% freshness score at Rotten Tomatoes),  “Transformers: The Last Knight” is likely to be strong Oscar contender. While the fourth film in the series, 2014’s “Transformers: Age of Extinction,” was snubbed by the academy the first three reaped seven bids between them as detailed below. All three vied for Sound Mixing, while the first and third films also earned nominations for Sound Editing and Visual Effects.

Below, the outcome of those seven Oscar races in which the first three “Transformers” film were nominated:

“Transformers” (2007) – 3 nominations
Best Visual Effects – lost to “The Golden Compass”
Best Sound Editing – lost to “The Bourne Ultimatum”
Best Sound Mixing – lost to “The Bourne Ultimatum”

“Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen” (2009) – 1 nomination
Best Sound Mixing – lost to “The Hurt Locker”

“Transformers: Dark of the Moon” (2011) – 3 nominations
Best Visual Effects – lost to “Hugo”
Best Sound Editing – lost to “Hugo”
Best Sound Mixing – lost to “Hugo”

Even thoug film number four, “Transformers: Age of Extinction,” was overlooked by the motion picture academy, it was firmly in the sights of the Razzie Awards. It reaped seven bids there, including Worst Picture. Bay won Worst Director while Kelsey Grammer claimed Worst Supporting Actor.

In 2007, the generally well-reviewed first film only contended for Worst Supporting Actor (Jon Voight, who was also cited for “Bratz,” “National Treasure: Book of Secrets,” and “September Dawn”), but the first sequel, “Revenge of the Fallen,” fell hard in 2009 with seven nominations and a “win” for Worst Picture. The third sequel, “Dark of the Moon,” was nominated for eight awards in 2011, including Worst Picture, but it left unscathed thanks to Adam Sandler‘s “Jack and Jill,” which made Razzie history by sweeping every category.


More News from GoldDerby