TV Hall of Fame 2017: Original cast of ‘Saturday Night Live’ to be inducted in November

The original 1970s cast of “Saturday Night Live” will be inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame this year. The selection committee announced on Thursday that Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Chevy Chase, Jane Curtin, Garrett Morris, Laraine Newman, and Gilda Radner are chosen for the class of 2017.

Joining them at the induction ceremony will be production designer Roy Christopher, producer Shonda Rhimes, comedian Joan Rivers, and producer John Wells. Belushi, Radner, and Rivers will be inducted posthumously. The event will take place on November 15 at the Saban Media Center in North Hollywood.

All of the original “SNL” ensemble members are past Emmy winners for writing, with Chase and Radner also winning in acting categories.. Show creator Lorne Michaels was inducted into the TV Hall of Fame in 1999.

Christopher is a 10-time Emmy champ for his work designing several Academy Awards ceremonies. Rhimes is a three-time nominee who has created “Grey’s Anatomy,” “How to Get Away with Murder,” and “Scandal.” Rivers is a Daytime Emmy winner for her self-named talk show who got her biggest fame as a guest and host on “The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.” Wells is a six-time Emmy winner for producing and co-creating “E.R.” and “The West Wing” and currently has “Shameless” on Showtime.

Major snubs still waiting to be inducted into the Television Hall of Fame include Ken Burns, Tyne Daly, Michael J. Fox, David Letterman, Jay Sandrich, Jerry Seinfeld, Lily Tomlin, Cicely Tyson, Henry Winkler, and the late Ed Bradley, Julia Child, Peter Falk, Don Knotts, John Ritter.

Be sure to make your Golden Globe predictions so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominations are announced on December 11. And join in the fierce debate over the 2018 Golden Globes taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our TV forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby