2018 American Society of Cinematographers Awards winners: Roger Deakins (‘Blade Runner 2049’) wins 4th ASC prize on way to Oscars

The 32nd annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards took place on Feb. 17 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland and were emceed by Turner Classic Movies’ Ben Mankiewicz. Over the years, the ASC has predicted 128 of the 160 Oscar nominees (80%), including all five of this year’s contenders: Roger Deakins (“Blade Runner 2049”), Bruno Delbonnel (“Darkest Hour”), Dan Laustsen (“The Shape of Water”), Rachel Morrison (“Mudbound”) and Hoyte van Hoytema (“Dunkirk”). But it has only previewed 13 of the last 31 winners of the Oscar for Best Cinematography; that is a a success rate of just 41%.

Deakins, who is the Oscar frontrunner for Best Cinematography, won for the fourth time from 15 bids with the ASC. His previous wins were for “The Shawkshank Redemption” (1994), “The Man Who Wasn’t There” (2001) and “Skyfall” (2012). He has yet to translate any of those victories into an Oscar, where he is 0 for 13.

Morrison made history as the first woman ever nominated by the ASC or the Academy Awards for feature film cinematography. While she is a rookie, this is the fourth bid for Delbonnel who won the ASC Award in 2004 for “A Very Long Engagement”; he lost the Oscar that year to Robert Richardson (“The Aviator”). Hoytema is in contention for the second time while Laustsen is a first-time contender.

The Spotlight Award, which honors films screened at festivals, internationally, or in limited release, went to Mart Taniel (“November”).

The ASC also hands out prizes for episodes of series on both commercial and non-commercial television as well as in the combined category of telefilms, limited series and pilots. Netflix’s “The Crown” won for Best Non-Commercial Television for its first season episode “Smoke and Mirrors.” SyFy’s “12 Monkeys” took the Commercial Television prize for its third season episode “Thief,” and NatGeo’s “Genius” snagged the TV Movie/Limited Series/Pilot award.

Russell Carpenter, who won his only bids with the ASC and the Oscars for “Titanic” in 1998, was honored for lifetime achievement. Angelina Jolie was feted with the Board of Governors award while Stephen Lighthill got the Presidents Award, Russell Boyd received the International Award and Alan Caso was given the Career Achievement in Television Award.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions


Theatrical Release
X – Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049
Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest Hour
Hoyte van Hoytema for Dunkirk
Rachel Morrison or Mudbound
Dan Laustsen for The Shape of Water

Spotlight Award
Máté Herbai for On Body and Soul
Mikhail Krichman for Loveless
X – Mart Taniel for November

SEE 2018 Oscars presenters: Winners Emma Stone, Viola Davis and Mahershala Ali returning, but not Casey Affleck


TV Movie/Limited Series/Pilot
Pepe Avila del Pino for The Deuce: “Pilot”
Serge Desrosiers for Sometimes the Good Kill
X – Mathias Herndl for Genius “Chapter 1”
Shelly Johnson for Training Day “Apocalypse Now”
Christopher Probst for Mindhunter “Pilot”

Episode: Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle: “Land O’ Smiles”
X – Adriano Goldman for The Crown: “Smoke and Mirrors”
Robert McLachlan for Game of Thrones: “The Spoils of War”
Gregory Middleton for Game of Thrones: “Dragonstone”
Alasdair Walker for Outlander: “The Battle Joined”

Episode: Commercial Television
Dana Gonzales for Legion: “Chapter 1”
David Greene for 12 Monkeys: “Mother”
Kurt Jones for The Originals: “Bag of Cobras”
X – Boris Mojsovski for 12 Monkeys: “Thief”
Crescenzo Notarile for Gotham: “The Executioner”

SEE Dish all the Oscar contenders with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions so that Hollywood insiders can see how their films and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before winners are announced on March 4. And join in the fierce debate over the 2018 Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our movie forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby