2018 DGA Awards: Full list of Directors Guild winners includes Guillermo del Toro, Jordan Peele, ‘Big Little Lies’ … [UPDATING LIVE]

Winners of the 70th Directors Guild of America Awards were announced Saturday, February 3 beginning at 7:30 p.m. PT in a non-televised ceremony hosted by Judd Apatow. Prizes were handed out for both film and television by A-list presenters and former DGA winners at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, California. These awards are voted on annually by members of the Directors Guild of America who work in film or television. Below, see the full list of 2018 DGA Awards winners, which are marked in gold.

As per tradition, all five of this year’s nominees for Best Film Director — Guillermo del Toro (“The Shape of Water”), Greta Gerwig (“Lady Bird”), Martin McDonagh (“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”), Christopher Nolan (“Dunkirk”) and Jordan Peele (“Get Out”) — received special medallions and gave speeches at the podium. Four of these five nominees also contend at the Oscars for Best Director, where McDonagh was replaced by Paul Thomas Anderson (“Phantom Thread”). Another closely watched film category was Best First-Time Director, where the five nominees were Peele, Geremy Jasper (“Patti Cake$”), WIlliam Oldroyd (“Lady Macbeth”), Taylor Sheridan (“Wind River”) and Aaron Sorkin (“Molly’s Game”).

For TV dramas, Reed Morano (“The Handmaid’s Tale”) and The Duffer Brothers (“Stranger Things”) faced off against “Game of Thrones” directors Jeremy Podeswa, Matt Shakman and Alan Taylor. And for TV comedies, both Aziz Ansari and Melina Matsoukas (“Master of None”) battled Mike Judge (“Silicon Valley”), Beth McCarthy-Miller (“Veep”) and Amy Sherman-Palladino (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”).

SEE 2018 DGA Awards predictions: Guillermo del Toro all but certain to win key Oscar precursor


Feature Film
X – Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”
Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”
Martin McDonagh, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”
Christopher Nolan, “Dunkirk”
Jordan Peele, “Get Out”

Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, “The Vietnam War”
Bryan Fogel, “Icarus”
X – Matthew Heineman, “City of Ghosts”
Steve James, “Abacus: Small Enough to Jail”
Errol Morris, “Wormwood”

First-Time Feature Film
Geremy Jasper, “Patti Cake$”
William Oldroyd, “Lady Macbeth”
X – Jordan Peele, “Get Out”
Taylor Sheridan, “Wind River”
Aaron Sorkin, “Molly’s Game”

SEE 2018 DGA Awards winner is Oscar frontrunner for Best Director


Drama Series
The Duffer Brothers, “Stranger Things” for “Chapter Nine: The Gate”
X – Reed Morano, “The Handmaid’s Tale” for “Offred”
Jeremy Podeswa, “Game of Thrones” for “The Dragon and the Wolf”
Matt Shakman, “Game of Thrones” for “The Spoils of War”
Alan Taylor, “Game of Thrones” for “Beyond the Wall”

Comedy Series
Aziz Ansari, “Master of None” for “The Thief”
Mike Judge, “Silicon Valley” for “Server Error”
Melina Matsoukas, “Master of None” for “Thanksgiving”
X – Beth McCarthy-Miller, “Veep” for “Chicklet”
Amy Sherman-Palladino, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” for “Pilot”

Miniseries or TV Movie
Scott Frank, “Godless”
Barry Levinson, “The Wizard of Lies”
Kyra Sedgwick, “Story of a Girl”
X – Jean-Marc Vallee, “Big Little Lies”
George C. Wolfe, “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled
Andre Allen, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee” for “Episode #2061”
Paul G. Casey, “Real Time with Bill Maher” for “Show #1527”
Jim Hoskinson, “The Late Show with Stephen Colbert” for “Joe Biden/Elton John”
X – Don Roy King, “Saturday Night Live” for “Host: Jimmy Fallon”
Paul Pennolino, “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” for “French Elections”

Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials
Stan Lathan, “Dave Chappelle: The Age of Spin”
Linda Mendoza, “Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize Honoring David Letterman”
Paul Pennolino, “Full Frontal with Samantha Bee Presents Not the White House Correspondents’ Dinner”
Amy Schumer, “Amy Schumer: The Leather Special”
X – Glenn Weiss, “89th Academy Awards”

Reality Programs
Hisham Abed, “Encore!” for “Pilot”
John Gonzalez, “Live PD” for “Episode 50”
X – Brian Smith, “MasterChef” for “Vegas Deluxe & Oyster Schucks”
Adam Vetri, “Dare to Live” for “Chainsmokers”
Kent Weed, “Spartan: Ultimate Team Challenge” for “Season Premiere”

Children’s Programs
X – Niki Caro, “Anne with an E” for “Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”
Benjamin Lehmann, “The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special”
Lily Mariye, “Just Add Magic” for “Just Add Meddling”
Alison McDonald, “An American Girl Story: Summer Camp” for “Friends for Life”
Matthew O’Neill and Thalia Sodi, “15: A Quinceañera Story: Zoey”

X – Martin de Thurah, StubHub’s “Festival” and “Machines,” and Wealthsimple’s “Mad World”
Alma Har’el, P&G’s “Love without Bias”
Will Hoffman and Julius Metoyer, KitchenAid’s “Anthem” and Ford’s “Go Further”
Miles Jay, Bose’s “Alive”, and Squarespace’s “Calling JohnMalkovich.com” and “Who is JohnMalkovich.com?”
Isaiah Seret, Samsung’s “Growing Up” and “I Love You”, and Kohler’s “Never Too Composed”

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby