2018 Directors Guild Awards: Will it preview Best Picture again after leading us astray for two years running?

In the 69-year history of the DGA Awards, the guild has honored the director of the eventual Oscar Best Picture winner a staggering 54 times. That success rate of 78% far eclipses that of both the PGA (19/28 = 68%) and SAG (11/22 = 50%). However, we are just coming off two of those 15 years when there were disconnects.

Last year, all three guilds let us Academy Awards watchers down as the producers and directors backed “La La Land” and its helmer Damien Chazelle while the actors went with the cast of “Hidden Figures.” SAG did foresee the Best Picture win for “Spotlight” in 2016 by awarding its ensemble after the PGA went with “The Big Short.” And the DGA was so enamored with the work of Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu on “The Revenant” that it made him its first back-to-back winner. He had prevailed the previous year for “Birdman,” which did go on to win the top award at the Oscars.

SEE predictions from 29 Oscar experts: What will win Best Picture?

Prior to the last two years, the most recent disparity between the DGA choice for Best Director and the academy pick for Best Picture was in 2013. While Alfonso Cuaron (“Gravity”) won top honors from the guild, “12 Years a Slave” claimed Best Picture at the Oscars. (The PGA had awarded its prize to both films). Just the year before, the correlation between the two awards had been so strong that the Oscar-snubbed helmer Ben Affleck won over the DGA and saw his film — “Argo” — go on to be named Best Picture by the academy.

DISCUSS all the Oscar contenders with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

The other unlucky 13 exceptions to the DGA rule (and four of these, as noted, also number among the seven instances where the DGA champ did not also win Best Director at the Oscars) were:

1948 — DGA to “A Letter to Three Wives” (Joseph L. Mankiewicz) and Best Picture to “Hamlet”;

1951 — DGA to “A Place in the Sun” (George Stevens) and Best Picture to “An American in Paris”;

1952 — DGA to “The Quiet Man” (John Ford) and Best Picture to “The Greatest Show on Earth”;

1956 — DGA to “Giant” (George Stevens) and Best Picture to “Around the World in 80 Days”;

1967 — DGA to “The Graduate” (Mike Nichols) and Best Picture to “In the Heat of the Night”;

1968 — DGA to “The Lion in Winter” (Anthony Harvey) and Best Picture to “Oliver!” (that film’s Carol Reed won Best Director as well);

1981 — DGA to “Reds” (Warren Beatty) and Best Picture to “Chariots of Fire”;

1985 — DGA to “The Color Purple” (Oscar-snubbed Steven Spielberg) and Best Picture to “Out of Africa” (that film’s Sydney Pollack won Best Director as well);

1989 — DGA to “Born on the Fourth of July” (Oliver Stone) and Best Picture to “Driving Miss Daisy” (that film’s director Bruce Beresford was DGA and Oscar-snubbed; Stone won the Oscar too);

1995 — DGA to “Apollo 13” (Oscar-snubbed Ron Howard) and Best Picture to “Braveheart” (that film’s Mel Gibson won Best Director as well);

1998 — DGA to “Saving Private Ryan” (Steven Spielberg) and Best Picture to “Shakespeare in Love”;

2000 — DGA to “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” (Ang Lee) and Best Picture to “Gladiator” (Steven Soderbergh won Best Director for “Traffic”); and

2005 — DGA to “Brokeback Mountain” (Ang Lee) and Best Picture to “Crash.”

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Besides Affleck and the four men mentioned above, the other two DGA champs who did not win an Oscar as well were Francis Ford Coppola (“The Godfather,” 1972) who saw the Oscar go to Bob Fosse (“Cabaret”) and Rob Marshall (“Chicago”, 2002) who was bested by Roman Polanski (“The Pianist”).

PREDICT the Oscar nominees now; change them until January 23

Be sure to check out how our experts rank Oscar contenders in this and the other top races. Use the drop-down menus at the top of each page to see the other categories. Then take a look at the most up-to-date odds before you make make your Oscar nomination predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on January 23.

More News from GoldDerby