2018 Emmy Awards nominations announced on July 12 by Samira Wiley (‘The Handmaid’s Tale) and Ryan Eggold (‘New Amsterdam’)

The TV academy has lined up “The Handmaid Tale” scene stealer Samira Wiley and Ryan Eggold, the star of the upcoming NBC series “New Amsterdam,” to announce the nominations for the 70th Emmy Awards on July 12 at 8:30 a.m. PT/11:30 a.m. ET.

Wiley could well hear her own name among the nominees for Best Drama Guest Actress. She contended in the supporting race last year for the freshman season of his Hulu hit. She lost to co-star Ann Dowd, who numbered among the eight Emmys won by the show, including Best Drama Series.

Eggold is a favorite of the peacock network, which will be airing the Emmys on Sept. 17. He is coming off a run on “The Blacklist,” which stars Emmys champ James Spader, and is the lead of a hot new medical drama.

PREDICT the Emmy nominees and winners now; change them until July 12

NBC has turned to longtime “Saturday Night Live” producer Lorne Michaels to produce the Emmys. He, in turn, has tapped his “Weekend Update” anchors Michael Che and Colin Jost to host the live coast-to-coast telecast that begins at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET.

Michaels produced the 1988 Emmys, which were emceed by “Dynasty” leading man John Forsyth. While much has changed in the TV business since then, Michaels has been a constant at “SNL.” Expect him to include many of the recurring characters that have made the show a sensation once more.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions today so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions as often as you like until just before nominees are announced on July 12. And join in the fun debate over the 2018 Emmy taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our television forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

 

More News from GoldDerby

Loading