2018 European Film Awards: Red-hot ‘Cold War’ wins 5 on way to Oscars

Pawel Pawlikowski’s “”Cold War” swept the European Film Academy Awards on Saturday, winning five of its bids: Best Picture, Director, Actress (Joanna Kulig), Screenplay and Film Editing. This Polish picture contended for the top prize against three other films that are also entered in this year’s Oscar race for Foreign-Language Film — Sweden’s “Border,” Poland’s “Cold War,” Italy’s “Dogman” and Belgium’s “Girl.” The fifth nominee was “Happy as Lazzaro,” which is also from Italy.

Winners of the 31st edition of these awards were decided by the 3,000 plus members of the academy, drawn from all parts of Europe. Scroll down to see all the winners (and nominees).

Last year Ruben Ostlund‘s satire “The Square” swept the EFAs with six wins including both Best Picture and Best Comedy. Ostlund claimed both the writing and directing awards for his savage satire set in the high stakes art world with dialogue in Swedish and English and starring Elisabeth Moss and Dominic West. In addition, the film’s Swedish leading man Claes Bang won Best Actor and Josefin Åsberg picked up the Best Production Design prize. “The Square” won the Palme d’Or at Cannes but lost the Oscar race for Foreign-Language Film to Chile’s “A Fantastic Woman.”

DISCUSS All the Oscar contenders with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Best Picture
X – “Cold War”
“Happy as Lazzaro”

Best Director
Ali Abbasi, “Border”
Matteo Garrone, “Dogman”
Samuel Maoz, “Foxtrot”
X – Pawel Pawlikowski, “Cold War”
Alice Rohrwacher, “Happy as Lazzaro”

Best Actor
Jakob Cedergren, “The Guilty”
Rupert Everett, “The Happy Prince”
X – Marcello Fonte, “Dogman”
Sverrir Gudnason, “Borg vs. McEnroe”
Tomasz Kot, “Cold War”
Victor Polster, “Girl”

Best Actress
Marie Baumer, “3 Days in Quiberon”
Halldora Geirharosdottir, “Woman at War”
X – Joanna Kulig, “Cold War”
Bárbara Lennie, “Petra”
Eva Melander, “Border”
Alba Rohrwacher, Happy as Lazzaro”

Best Screenplay
Ali Abbasi, Isabella Eklof & John Ajvide Lindqvist, “Border”
Matteo Garrone, Ugo Chiti & Massimo Gaudioso, “Dogman”
Gustav Möller & Emil Nygaard Albertsen, “The Guilty”
X – Pawel Pawlikowski, “Cold War”
Alice Rohrwacher, “Happy as Lazzaro”

Best Comedy
“C’est La Vie”
X – “The Death of Stalin”

Best Documentary
“A Woman Captured”
X – “Bergman —A Year in a Life”
“Of Fathers and Sons”
“The Distant Barking of Dogs”
“The Silence of Others”

Best Animated Feature
X – “Another Day of Life”
“Early Man”
“The Breadwinner”
“White Fang”

European Discovery/Prix Fipresci
X – “Girl”
“One Day”
“Scary Mother”
“The Guilty”
“Those Who Are Fine”
“Touch Me Not”

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby