2018 Tony Awards full list of nominations: Every show and performer in the running at the 72nd annual Tonys

The 2018 Tony Awards take place on Sunday, June 10 at New York’s Radio City Music Hall. The three-hour ceremony hosted by two past nominees, composer Sara Bareilles (“Waitress”) and actor Josh Groban (“Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812”), will air on CBS. Those in the Eastern and Central time zones can see it live while those in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have a three-hour tape delay.

Thirty shows were eligible for consideration. A whopping 21 of these reaped at least one bid across the 26 Tony Awards categories. While the nominations were determined by 51 theater professionals, the 2018 Tonys winners will be decided by 842 members of the Broadway community.

SEE 2018 Tony Awards: When does the show start on Sunday, who are the hosts and presenters and what will win?

Two new musicals – “Mean Girls” and “SpongeBob SquarePants” — earned a leading dozen Tony Awards nominations apiece while “The Band’s Visit,” had to settle for 11 bids. Among new plays, the British import “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child” earned a whopping 10 nominations. That is twice the haul of its closest rival for Best Play, “Farinelli and the King.”

The first Broadway revival of Tony Kushner‘s Pultizer and Tony-winning two-parter “Angels in America” picked up 11 nominations while the remounting of Eugene O’Neill‘s epic “The Iceman Cometh” has eight. And the first Broadway production of Edward Albee‘s Pulitzer-winning “Three Tall Women” earned six. Likewise, restagings of classic musicals did well. Rodgers and Hammerstein‘s “Carousel” has 11 bids while Lerner and Loewe‘s “My Fair Lady” is at 10.

SEE 2018 Tonys online: How to watch 72nd Tony Awards live stream without a TV

The full list of 2018 Tony Awards nominations is below.


Best Musical
“Mean Girls”
“SpongeBob SquarePants”
“The Band’s Visit”

Best Musical Revival
“My Fair Lady”
“Once On This Island”

Best Actor (Musical)
Harry Hadden-Paton, “My Fair Lady”
Joshua Henry, “Carousel”
Tony Shalhoub, “The Band’s Visit”
Ethan Slater, “SpongeBob SquarePants”

Best Actress (Musical)
Lauren Ambrose, “My Fair Lady”
Hailey Kilgore, Once On This Island”
LaChanze, “Summer: The Donna Summer Musical”
Katrina Lenk, “The Band’s Visit”
Taylor Louderman, “Mean Girls”
Jessie Mueller, “Carousel”

Best Featured Actor (Musical)
Norbert Leo Butz, “My Fair Lady”
Alexander Gemignani, “Carousel”
Grey Henson, “Mean Girls”
Gavin Lee, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Ari’el Stachel, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Featured Actress (Musical)
Ariana DeBose, “Summer: The Donna Summer Musical”
Renée Fleming, “Carousel”
Lindsay Mendez, “Carousel”
Ashley Park, “Mean Girls”
Diana Rigg, “My Fair Lady”

Best Director (Musical)
Michael Arden, “Once On This Island”
David Cromer, “The Band’s Visit”
Tina Landau, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Casey Nicholaw, “Mean Girls”
Bartlett Sher, “My Fair Lady”

Best Choreography
Christopher Gattelli, “My Fair Lady”
Christopher Gattelli, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Steven Hoggett, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Casey Nicholaw, “Mean Girls”
Justin Peck, “Carousel”

Best Book of a Musical
“The Band’s Visit,” Itamar Moses
“Frozen,” Jennifer Lee
“Mean Girls, Tina Fey
“SpongeBob SquarePants,” Kyle Jarrow

Best Original Score
“Angels in America”
Music: Adrian Sutton

“The Band’s Visit”
Music & Lyrics: David Yazbek

Music & Lyrics: Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez

“Mean Girls”
Music: Jeff Richmond, Lyrics: Nell Benjamin

“SpongeBob SquarePants”
Music & Lyrics: Yolanda Adams, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Sara Bareilles, Jonathan Coulton, Alex Ebert of Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros, The Flaming Lips, Lady Antebellum, Cyndi Lauper & Rob Hyman, John Legend, Panic! at the Disco, Plain White T’s, They Might Be Giants, T.I., Domani & Lil’C

Best Orchestrations
John Clancy, “Mean Girls”
Tom Kitt, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Annmarie Milazzo & Michael Starobin, “Once On This Island”
Jamshied Sharifi, “The Band’s Visit”
Jonathan Tunick, “Carousel”

Best Costume Design (Musical)
Gregg Barnes, “Mean Girls”
Clint Ramos, “Once On This Island”
Ann Roth, “Carousel”
David Zinn, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Catherine Zuber, “My Fair Lady”

Best Lighting Design (Musical)
Kevin Adams, “SpongeBob SquarePants”
Jules Fisher, Peggy Eisenhauer, “Once On This Island”
Donald Holder, “My Fair Lady”
Brian MacDevitt, “Carousel”
Tyler Micoleau, “The Band’s Visit”

Best Scenic Design (Musical)
Dane Laffrey, “Once On This Island”
Scott Pask, “The Band’s Visit
Scott Pask, Finn Ross, Adam Young, “Mean Girls”
Michael Yeargan, “My Fair Lady”
David Zinn, “SpongeBob SquarePants”

Best Sound Design (Musical)
Kai Harada, “The Band’s Visit”
Peter Hylenski, “Once On This Island”
Scott Lehrer, “Carousel”
Brian Ronan, “Mean Girls”
Walter Trarbach and Mike Dobson, “SpongeBob SquarePants”

SEE 2018 Tonys predictions: Complete odds for 72nd annual Tony Awards winners


Best Play
“The Children”
“Farinelli and the King”
“Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
“Latin History for Morons”

Best Play Revival
“Angels in America”
“The Iceman Cometh”
“Lobby Hero”
“Three Tall Women”

Best Actor (Play)
Andrew Garfield, “Angels in America”
Tom Hollander, “Travesties”
Jamie Parker, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Mark Rylance, “Farinelli and the King”
Denzel Washington, “The Iceman Cometh”

Best Actress (Play)
Glenda Jackson, “Three Tall Women”
Condola Rashad, “Saint Joan”
Lauren Ridloff, “Children of a Lesser God”
Amy Schumer, “Meteor Shower”

Best Featured Actor (Play)
Anthony Boyle, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Michael Cera, “Lobby Hero”
Brian Tyree Henry, “Lobby Hero”
Nathan Lane, “Angels in America”
David Morse, “The Iceman Cometh”

Best Featured Actress (Play)
Susan Brown, “Angels in America”
Noma Dumezweni, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Deborah Findlay, “The Children”
Denise Gough, “Angels in America”
Laurie Metcalf, “Three Tall Women”

Best Director (Play)
Marianne Elliott, “Angels in America”
Joe Mantello, “Three Tall Women”
Patrick Marber, “Travesties”
John Tiffany, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
George C. Wolfe, “The Iceman Cometh”

Best Costume Design (Play)
Jonathan Fensom, “Farinelli and The King”
Nicky Gillibrand, “Angels in America”
Katrina Lindsay, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Ann Roth, “Three Tall Women”
Ann Roth, “The Iceman Cometh”

Best Lighting Design (Play)
Neil Austin, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Paule Constable, “Angels in America”
Jules Fisher + Peggy Eisenhauer, “The Iceman Cometh”
Paul Russell, “Farinelli and The King”
Ben Stanton, “Junk”

Best Scenic Design (Play)
Miriam Buether, “Three Tall Women”
Jonathan Fensom, “Farinelli and The King”
Christine Jones, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Santo Loquasto, “The Iceman Cometh”
Ian MacNeil and Edward Pierce, “Angels in America”

Best Sound Design (Play)
Adam Cork, “Travesties”
Ian Dickinson for Autograph, “Angels in America”
Gareth Fry, “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child”
Tom Gibbons, “1984”
Dan Moses Schreier, “The Iceman Cometh”

DISCUSS all the Tony contenders with Broadway insiders in our notorious forums

Be sure to make your Tony Awards predictions today so that Broadway insiders can see how their shows and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions as often as you like until just before winners are announced on June 10. And join in the fun debate over the 2018 Tonys taking place right now in our theater forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.


More News from GoldDerby