2018 USC Scripter Awards: ‘Call Me By Your Name’ wins on way to Oscars

The USC Scripter Award, now in its 30th year, honors films adapted from novels, short stories, comic books, journalism, and other screenplays with both the source material and the adapted screenplay feted. This year’s winner was “Call Me By Your Name,” which prevailed over four of its Oscar four of its rivals for Best Adapted Screenplay at the Oscars — “The Disaster Artist,” “Logan,” “Molly’s Game” and “Mudbound — as well as the “The Lost City of Z” and “Wonder Woman.”

As it excludes stage-to-screen adaptations and foreign-language films, the Scripter has forecast just 13 of the eventual Oscar winners for Best Adapted Screenplay, but nine of those were in the past decade: “Moonlight” (2016), “The Big Short” (2015)  “The Imitation Game,” (2014), “12 Years a Slave” (2013), “Argo” (2012), “The Descendants” (2011), “The Social Network” (2010), “Slumdog Millionaire” (2008), and “No Country for Old Men” (2007). The other repeat winners were “A Beautiful Mind” (2001), “L.A. Confidential” (1997), “Sense and Sensibility” (1995) and “Schindler’s List” (1993).

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

This year’s seven nominees were

X – “Call Me By Your Name”
Screenwriter James Ivory
Author Andreì Aciman

“The Disaster Artist”
Screenwriters Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber
Authors Greg Sestero and Tom Bissell for their nonfiction book “The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside ‘The Room,’ the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made”

Screenwriters Scott Frank, Michael Green, and James Mangold
Authors Roy Thomas, Len Wein, and John Romita, Sr.

“The Lost City of Z”
Screenwriter James Gray
Author David Grann

“Molly’s Game”
Screenwriter Aaron Sorkin
Author Molly Bloom

Screenwriters Dee Rees and Virgil Williams
Author Hillary Jordan

“Wonder Woman”
Screenwriters Allan Heinberg, Jason Fuchs, Zack Snyder
Author William Moulton Marston

Be sure to make your WGA predictions so that Hollywood studio executives and top name filmmakers can see how their movies are faring in our odds. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before winners are announced on February 11. And join in the fierce debate over the 2018 WGA Awards taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our film forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby