2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees: Janet Jackson, Radiohead, Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks …

On Thursday (Dec. 13), the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the seven acts to be inducted in the spring: Def LeppardJanet JacksonStevie Nicks, Radiohead, Roxy Music, The Cure and the Zombies. These lucky seven acts were culled from a nominations list of 15. To decide the inductees, ballots were sent to more than 1,000 music industry insiders around the world. Fans also had a chance to help pick the inductees this year.

Three of the inductees were first-time nominees despite being eligible for years: Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks and Roxy Music (The other three other rookie contenders who missed out were: Devo, John Prine and Todd Rudgren.) Nicks made history as the first woman to be in the hall of fame twice; she was inducted as part of Fleetwood Mac in 1998.

Radiohead made the cut on their second try while another two-time nominee, Rage Against the Machine, was passed over.

Third time proved to be the charm for Janet Jackson but not Rufus and Chaka Khan.

While it took The Zombies four rounds to make it into the hall of fame but MC5 is still out of luck

Kraftwerk and LL Cool J were snubbed for the fifth time.

SEE 2018 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees: Journey, Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur …

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an artist must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to their nomination, so this year’s nominees must go back to 1993 or earlier.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby