2019 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees: Returning Janet Jackson versus newcomers Def Leppard, Stevie Nicks

On Tuesday, October 9, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its nominees for induction in 2019. The 15 artists vying for the five to six slots are as follows:

Def Leppard
Janet Jackson
John Prine
LL Cool J
Rage Against the Machine
Roxy Music
Stevie Nicks
The Cure
Todd Rundgren
Rufus & Chaka Khan
The Zombies

To be eligible for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, an artist must have released their first single or album at least 25 years prior to their nomination, so this year’s nominees must go back to 1993 or earlier.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Six of the contenders are first-time nominees despite being eligible for years — Def Leppard, Devo, John Prine, Roxy Music, Stevie Nicks and Todd Rudgren. Two — Radiohead and Rage Against the Machine — return for a second year running, having been nominated last year when they were first eligible. This is the third year in a row that Janet Jackson and the Khans have been on the ballot. The Zombies are hoping that fourth time is the charm while both Kraftwerk and LL Cool J are on bid number five.

To decide the inductees, ballots will now be sent to more than 1,000 music industry insiders around the world. Fans also have a chance to help pick the inductees this year. From October 9 to December 5, you can visit the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame website to vote on who the most deserving artists are.

SEE 2018 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees: Journey, Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur …

More News from GoldDerby