How is the Top 10 decided on season 16 of ‘American Idol’: By public vote or judges choice?

The Top 14 on season 16 of “American Idol” take to the stage on Sunday, April 22. Twenty-four hour later, six of them will hear from host Ryan Seacrest that they’ve landed a place in the Top 10 based on their standing in the public vote. The remaining eight contestants will have to sing again. The three judges – Luke Bryan, Katy Perry and Lionel Richie – will then confer and decide which four other finalists are their choices to move on in the competition and which four will go home.

Heading into Sunday’s show, four of the Top 14 — Gabby Barrett, Cade Foehner, Jurnee and Ada Vox — are your clear favorites, according to our poll of readers. Each of them has racked up at least 10% of the total vote to date. If they tally at least that when America weighs in, each of them should number among the six finalists to move through automatically on Monday, April 23.

None of the other 10 other artists in the Top 14 — Jonny Brenns, Marcio Donaldson, Caleb Lee Hutchinson, Garrett Jacobs, Mara Justine, Dennis Lorenzo, Maddie Poppe, Michelle Sussett, Catie Turner and Michael J. Woodard — has merited more than nine percent of the vote so far.

Do you think we are underestimating one or more of these talents? Song choice will be the key to getting enough votes to earn a spot in the Top 10. We have discovered the tunes that each of the Top 14 will sing on Sunday, April 22. After reviewing this roster, be sure to vote in our poll as to which of the Top 14 is likeliest to win season 16 of “American Idol.”

SEE ‘American Idol’ Top 14: How to vote for your favorite artist of Season 16 on ABC

Gabby Barrett
“The Climb” by Miley Cyrus

Johnny Brenns
“This is Gospel” by Panic at the Disco

Marcio Donaldson
“It’s a Miracle” by Barry Manilow

Cade Foehner
“Black Magic Woman” by Santana

SEE ‘American Idol’ frontrunners: Ada Vox, Gabby Barrett, Cade Foehner and Jurnee lead Top 14 on season 16

Caleb Lee Hutchinson
“Midnight Train to Memphis” by Chris Stapleton

 Garrett Jacobs
“Raging Fire” by Phillip Phillips

“Bang Bang” by Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj

Mara Justine
“This is Me” by Keala Settle

Dennis Lorenzo
“In My Blood” by Shawn Mendes

SEE ‘American Idol’ Winners: Where Are They Now (Seasons 1 – 15)?

Maddie Pope
“Homeward Bound” By Simon and Garfunkel

Michelle Sussett
“Friends” by Marshmello and Anne Marie

Catie Turner
“Take Me to Church” by Hozier

Ada Vox
“The Show Must Go On” by Queen

Michael J. Woodard
“Titanium” by Sia

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s newsletter with experts’ latest predictions

Be sure to make your predictions so that the contestants can see how they’re faring in our racetrack odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before the next episode airs on ABC. You’ll compete to win a spot on our leaderboard and a $100 Amazon gift card. See our contest rules and sound off with other fans in our reality TV forum. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby