Academy Board of Governors election results: Alfred Molina, Susanne Bier …

On Thursday (June 14), the motion picture academy announced the results of its annual Board of Governors election. Alfred Molina prevailed in a hotly contested contest to be one of the three representatives from the actors branch while Susanne Bier won her bid to be a voice for the directors branch.

Each of the 17 branches of the academy is represented by three governors who serve three-year terms. Those terms are staggered such that one governor from each branch is up for re-election each year. And no governor may serve for more than nine uninterrupted years.

SEE Alfred Molina (‘Feud: Bette and Joan’) chats playing ‘the heart of the story’ in battle between Bette Davis and Joan Crawford [EXCLUSIVE VIDEO]

Ten incumbents were voted back in by branch members while Molina and Bier number among the four newcomers to the board. And two more return after a break from service.

In all, women won just five of the 16 elections that have been decided. This brings their total number to 21 of the 54 governors, as it is now. That could rise by one as the seat for producers branch requires a run-off after a tie between Jason Blum and Jennifer Todd. Last year, women took 10 of the 17 seats in contention.

Six years ago, there were only nine women among the then 43 governors. Since then, the Art Directors branch was split into Designers and Costume Designers branches with three governors apiece, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch went from one to three governors, the Casting Directors branch was created, and three At-Large governors were appointed by the board.

SEE Susanne Bier (‘The Night Manager’) dishes directing Tom Hiddleston and Hugh Laurie [EXCLUSIVE VIDEO]

Joining Molina and Bier as first-time governors are:

Tom Duffield, Designers Branch
Bonnie Arnold, Short Films and Feature Animation Branch

Those Incumbents reelected are:

Bernard Telsey, Casting Directors Branch
Daryn Okada, Cinematographers Branch
Rory Kennedy, Documentary Branch
Jim Gianopulos, Executives Branch
Carol Littleton, Film Editors Branch
Lois Burwell, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch
Michael Giacchino, Music Branch
Scott Millan, Sound Branch
John Knoll, Visual Effects Branch
Billy Ray, Writers Branch

Returning to the Board after a hiatus are:

Jeffrey Kurland, Costume Designers Branch
Sid Ganis, Public Relations Branch

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s newsletter with experts’ latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby