CMA Awards winners 2018: Full list of Country Music Association winners

The 52nd Annual Country Music Association Awards were handed out on Wednesday, November 14, during a live ceremony broadcast on ABC and hosted by Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley for the 11th year in a row. So who won? Scroll down for our complete list of winners updating throughout the night.

Like the Grammys, the CMAs are a peer group award decided by industry insiders. The nominees and winners were chosen by the 7,400 musicians, artists, songwriters, executives and other country music professionals who make up the association. When picking the nominees they gave the most love to Chris Stapleton, who in his first three years of industry prominence (2015-2017) already claimed seven CMA Awards and appeared likely to add to that haul: he received a leading five nominations in 2018, including Entertainer of the Year.

Two winners were announced earlier on Wednesday during ABC’s “Good Morning America,” and they were both surprises. Thomas Rhett claimed Music Video of the Year for “Marry Me,” besting the front-runner in our racetrack odds, “Babe” by Sugarland and Taylor Swift. That was just the second CMA win of Rhett’s career, following his 2016 Single of the Year victory for “Die a Happy Man.”

And we thought Musical Event of the Year was going to go to the crossover hit “Meant to Be” by Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line, but instead the winner was “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” by David Lee Murphy and Kenny Chesney. That was Chesney’s ninth CMA victory overall but his first in six years. And it was the first win for Murphy on his very first nomination at these awards.

How many more surprises were there when trophies were handed out? Find out below.

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
X — Keith Urban

Album of the Year
“From A Room: Volume 2,” Chris Stapleton
X — “Golden Hour,” Kacey Musgraves
“Graffiti U,” Keith Urban
“Life Changes,” Thomas Rhett
“The Mountain,” Dierks Bentley

Single of the Year
X — “Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Drinkin’ Problem,” Midland
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line
“Tequila,” Dan and Shay

Song of the Year
“Body Like a Back Road,” Sam Hunt
X — “Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson
“Tequila,” Dan and Shay

Male Vocalist of the Year
Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
X — Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
X — Carrie Underwood

New Artist of the Year
Lauren Alaina
X — Luke Combs
Chris Janson
Brett Young

Vocal Duo of the Year
X — Brothers Osborne
Dan and Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie and Tae

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
X — Old Dominion

Music Video of the Year
“Babe,” Sugarland featuring Taylor Swift
“Cry Pretty,” Carrie Underwood
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson
X — “Marry Me,” Thomas Rhett
“Tequila,” Dan and Shay

Musical Event of the Year
“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley featuring Brothers Osborne
“Dear Hate,” Maren Morris featuring Vince Gill
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean featuring Miranda Lambert
X — “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy with Kenny Chesney
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line

Musician of the Year
Jerry Douglas, dobro
Paul Franklin, steel guitar
Dann Huff, guitar
X — Mac McAnally, guitar
Derek Wells, guitar

More News from GoldDerby