‘Dancing with the Stars’ season 27 pro dancers announced: The 13 pros include the reigning champ, a rookie and more!

On August 28 ABC announced the professional dancers who will compete for the Mirror Ball Trophy when the show returns for its 27th season on Monday night, September 24. they include a married couple, a newly engaged couple, some past Mirror Ball champions, and one former troupe dancer celebrating his promotion to the big leagues. Find out who they are below, and vote in our polls at the bottom of this post to let us know who you’re most excited to see this fall.


Lindsay Arnold — An alum of both “So You Think You Can Dance” and “Dancing with the Stars,” Arnold is competing for the eighth time as a pro. She has already made the finals four times, including her victory in season 25 with Jordan Fisher.

Sharna Burgess — This is her 12th time competing as a “DWTS” pro, but she still hasn’t achieved victory despite coming thisclose on multiple occasions. Our of the four times she has made the finals, she finished second three times: with Nick Carter (season 21), James Hinchcliffe (season 23) and Josh Norman (season 26).

Cheryl Burke — The queen of “DWTS,” this will be Burke’s 21st season on the show. She goes all the way back to season two, when she won with Drew Lachey. She won again with Emmitt Smith immediately after that in season three. Overall she’s a seven-time finalist, but it has been 12 years since she last prevailed.

Witney Carson — This is her 10th time as a “DWTS” pro. She won the Mirror Ball on just her second try, in season 19 with Alfonso Ribeiro. She has only made the finals one more time since then, with Frankie Muniz in season 25.

Jenna Johnson — This is only her third time as a “DWTS” pro, and her last two results were as mixed as you could get. She finished dead last with Jake T. Austin in season 23, but then she won season 26 with Adam Rippon, so she enters this season as the defending champ. She is also recently engaged to fellow pro Val Chmerkovskiy.

Emma Slater — This is her 10th time as a pro. She has only made the finals once, but that was all she needed to finally win: she prevailed with Rashad Jennings in season 24.


Brandon Armstrong — He’s the only first-time pro this season, having been promoted from the “DWTS” troupe, where he has performed on the show in previous seasons. Will he have beginner’s luck?

Alan Bersten — This time last year Bersten was a first-time pro himself, and now he’s competing for the third straight season. He’s hoping to make it to the finals for the first time and win the Mirror Ball.

Artem Chigvintsev — He previously won the British version of “DWTS,” “Strictly Come Dancing,” but he hasn’t had as much luck stateside. This will be his eighth time as a pro, but he has yet to make the finals.

Val Chmerkovskiy — One of the longest serving pros on the show, Chmerkovskiy is competing for the 14th season, and he has quite a track record. He’s a seven-time finalist and a two-time Mirror Ball champ with Rumer Willis in season 20 and Laurie Hernandez in season 23.

Sasha Farber — Emma Slater’s hubby Farber is celebrating his sixth season as a pro, and his results have been steadily improving. He made the finals for the first time just last season when he and Tonya Harding finished third.

Keo Motsepe — One of the show’s unluckiest cast members, Motsepe has been a pro seven times before, but three of those times he was the very first pro eliminated. He’s still aiming to make the finals for the first time.

Gleb Savchenko — This will be his sixth season strutting his stuff as a pro. He hasn’t made the top three yet, but he did come close in season 23, finishing fourth with Jana Kramer.

More News from GoldDerby