HBO shut out of Golden Globe Best Drama Series field for just the 2nd time

The Best Drama Series Golden Globe nominees are “The Americans,” “Bodyguard,” “Homecoming,” “Killing Eve” and “Pose.” Notice anything? Yup, no HBO. This is just the second time this century that the premium cable network has been shut out of this race.

Since HBO broke through as an original programming behemoth, it’s garnered 26 nominations in Best Drama Series, starting with “The Sopranos” in 2000. Tony Soprano & Co. won that year, and HBO has added two more victories since, for “Six Feet Under” in 2002 and “Boardwalk Empire” in 2011. The network has fielded one or two nominees every year except 2014, when its top contenders and all former nominees “Game of Thrones,” “Boardwalk Empire” and “The Newsroom” all missed.

SEE Golden Globes 2019: Full list of nominations

With “Game of Thrones” ineligible this year (and the Globes has never been huge fans of it in the first place), “Westworld” was HBO’s primary push. A previous nominee two years ago, it was ineligible last year, but that might have hurt the sci-fi Western with an awards group that loves to move on to the next thing at a rapid clip. “Westworld” was in seventh place in our predictions, but it did get a supporting nomination for reigning Emmy champ Thandie Newton.

HBO’s only other drama to make any impression with the Globes was its low-key summer hit “Succession,” for which Kieran Culkin nabbed a supporting bid. The series itself was in 13th place in our odds.

HBO will probably rebound next year, though, with the final season of “Game of Thrones” and the second season of “Big Little Lies,” which will now compete in drama.

See all of HBO’s Best Drama Series nominees at the Globes below (*** denotes winner).

2000: “The Sopranos”***
2001: “The Sopranos”
2002: “Six Feet Under”***, “The Sopranos”
2003: “Six Feet Under,” “The Sopranos”
2004: “Six Feet Under”
2005: “Deadwood,” “The Sopranos”
2006: “Rome”
2007: “Big Love”
2008: “Big Love”
2009: “In Treatment,” “True Blood”
2010: “Big Love,” “True Blood”
2011: “Boardwalk Empire”***
2012: “Boardwalk Empire,” “Game of Thrones”
2013: “Boardwalk Empire,” “The Newsroom”
2014: none
2015: “Game of Thrones”
2016: “Game of Thrones”
2017: “Game of Thrones,” “Westworld”
2018: “Game of Thrones”
2019: none

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby