Which TV stars were skunked by Golden Globes just one year after winning? Jennifer Aniston, Andy Samberg, Taraji P. Henson …

The Golden Globes giveth and the Golden Globes taketh away. Since the turn of the century several prominent TV stars have been embraced by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association one year, only to be completely skunked the next, including Jennifer Aniston (“Friends”), Andy Samberg (“Brooklyn Nine-Nine”) and Taraji P. Henson (“Empire”). As the TV landscape keeps changing and a record number of shows premiere each year, we can expect this unfortunate pattern to continue because there’s simply not enough room for everyone to be recognized. So what might this mean for the current crop of returning Golden Globe champs?

As a refresher, last year’s quartet of lead acting winners were Rachel Brosnahan (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”), Aziz Ansari (“Master of None”), Elisabeth Moss (“The Handmaid’s Tale”) and Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”). Three of these stars are eligible again at the 2019 ceremony, while Ansari is sitting out because his Netflix comedy didn’t air any new material during the 2018 calendar year.

According to our Golden Globes racetrack odds, Brosnahan is predicted to win Best Comedy Actress for the second year in a row, while both Moss and Brown will be nominated for Best Drama Actress and Actor, respectively. Of this trio of returning champs, Brown may be the most in danger of being snubbed since his 17/2 odds are lower than Moss’s 11/2 odds and far below Brosnahan’s leading odds of 9/2.

Here’s a closer look at all of the TV leads who were eligible but snubbed just one year after winning their Golden Globes, since the year 2000:

Jennifer Aniston for “Friends” (won for 2002, snubbed next year)
Amy Poehler for “Parks and Recreation” (2013)
Tracee Ellis Ross for “Black-ish” (2016)

Charlie Sheen for “Spin City” (2001)
Jason Bateman for “Arrested Development” (2004)
Jim Parsons for “The Big Bang Theory” (2010)
Andy Samberg for “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” (2013)

Frances Conroy for “Six Feet Under” (2003)
Mariska Hargitay for “Law and Order: Special Victims Unit” (2004)
Geena Davis for “Commander in Chief” (2005)
Katey Sagal for “Sons of Anarchy” (2010)
Claire Danes for “Homeland” (2011-12)
Ruth Wilson for “The Affair” (2014)
Taraji P. Henson for “Empire” (2015)

Anthony LaPaglia for “Without a Trace” (2003)
Ian McShane for “Deadwood” (2004)
Gabriel Byrne for “In Treatment” (2008)
Kelsey Grammer for “Boss” (2011)
Damian Lewis for “Homeland” (2012)
Kevin Spacey for “House of Cards” (2014)

PREDICT the Golden Globe TV nominations now; change them until Dec. 6

Be sure to check out how our experts rank this year’s Golden Globe contenders. Then take a look at the most up-to-date combined odds before you make your own 2019 Golden Globe predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before nominations are announced on Dec. 6.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby