Honorary Oscars: Cicely Tyson, Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall, Marvin Levy, Lalo Schifrin chosen as 2018 awards recipients

Honorary Oscars for 2018 will be going to actress Cicely Tyson, producers Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, publicist Marvin Levy and composer Lalo Schifrin. Academy board of governors have chosen these five people for awards that will be given out a special ceremony on November 18. Kennedy and Marshall are being honored with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award.

Tyson was nominated for an Oscar as Best Actress for “Sounder” (1972). Schifrin has received six nominations for “Cool Hand Luke” (1967), “The Fox” (1968), “Voyage of the Damned” (1976), “The Amityville Horror” (1979), “The Competition” (1980) and “The Sting II” (1983). Levy is the first publicist to receive an honorary Oscar and has worked for MGM, Columbia, Amblin and DreamWorks.

Kennedy is the first woman to receive the Thalberg. She and Marshall have received Best Picture nominations for “The Sixth Sense” (1999), “Seabiscuit” (2003), “Munich” (2005) and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button” (2008). Kennedy has also received bids for “E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial” (1982), “War Horse” (2011) and “Lincoln” (2012). Marshall was nominated for “Raiders of the Lost Ark” (1981).

SEE Honorary Oscars: Full list of 132 winners from Charlie Chaplin to Cicely Tyson

The selection process is very straightforward. Members of the board of governors put forth suggestions, with each of the top choices then voted on individually. Honorees must receive support from at least half of those on the board. The usual limit is three honorees. For a fourth to be named, he or she needs to garner two-thirds of the votes. Since the academy shifted these honorary kudos from the telecast to a separate non-televised ceremony nine years ago, they have celebrated 34 people.

In 2009, honorary Oscars went to actress Lauren Bacall, cinematographer Gordon Willis and producer Roger Corman while studio executive John Calley received the Irving Thalberg Award.

In 2010, honorary Oscars were bestowed on actor Eli Wallach, filmmaker Jean-Luc Godard and film historian Kevin Brownlow while Francis Ford Coppola was given the Thalberg.

In 2011, honorary Oscars were awarded to actor James Earl Jones and makeup pioneer Dick Smith while TV personaility Oprah Winfrey was given the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award.

In 2012, the academy snubbed on-screen talent entirely with honorary Oscars going to stuntman turned director Hal Needham, documentarian D.A. Pennebaker and director/producer George Stevens, Jr. while studio exec Jeffrey Katzenberg received the Hersholt.

In 2013, honorary Oscars went to actors Steve Martin and Angela Lansbury as well as costume designer Piero Tosi while actress/director Angelina Jolie was feted with the Hersholt.

In 2014, actress Maureen O’Hara, animator Hayao Miyazaki and writer Jean-Claude Carrière got honorary Oscars while actor/singer Harry Belafonte got the Hersholt.

In 2015, actress Gena Rowlands and director Spike Lee received honorary Oscars while Debbie Reynolds was feted with the Hersholt.

In 2016, action star Jackie Chan, film editor Anne V. Coates, casting director Lynn Stalmaster and documentary filmmaker Frederick Wiseman all received honorary Oscars.

In 2017, honorary Oscars were bestowed on director Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman, actor Donald Sutherland and documentary filmmaker Agnès Varda.

Be sure to check out how our experts rank this year’s Oscar contenders. Then take a look at the most up-to-date combined odds before you make your own Oscar predictions. Don’t be afraid to jump in now since you can keep changing your predictions until just before nominations are announced on January 22.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby