Will Sterling K. Brown be the 9th person to win a bookend SAG Award for TV drama actor?

With William H. Macy (“Shameless”) snubbed, Claire Foy done on “The Crown” and “Veep” on hiatus, Sterling K. Brown (“This Is Us”) is the only individual reigning TV champ who could repeat at the Screen Actors Guild Awards. If he does, he’d be the ninth person to win drama actor twice and the 10th with multiple wins.

James Gandolfini holds the record with three wins, triumphing for “The Sopranos” in 2000, ’03 and ’08. Eight other men have taken home two trophies:

1. Dennis Franz, “NYPD Blue” (1995, ’97)
2. Anthony Edwards, “ER” (1996, ’98)
3. Martin Sheen, “The West Wing” (2001, ’02)
4. Kiefer Sutherland, “24” (2004, ’06)
5. Hugh Laurie, “House” (2007, ’09)
6. Steve Buscemi, “Boardwalk Empire” (2011, ’12)
7. Bryan Cranston, “Breaking Bad” (2013, ’14)
8. Kevin Spacey, “House of Cards” (2015, ’16)

SEE ‘The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel’ tops SAG Awards TV nominations and (gasp!) so does ‘Ozark’

The last three two-timers won their awards back to back, so there’s no reason to think Brown can’t do the same. SAG voters default to repeat champs more so than any other voting body. And lest we forgot how young this award show is, these nine multiple champs mean that just five people have single wins in this category its 24-year existence: Sam Waterston (“Law & Order,” 1999), Jerry Orbach (“Law & Order,” 2005, posthumously), Michael C. Hall (“Dexter,” 2010), John Lithgow (“The Crown, 2017, for a one-season role) and Brown for now.

Brown does face some stiffer competition this year, and unlike last year, he’s not on a winning streak that started at the Emmys. He’s currently in second place in our odds, behind Jason Bateman, whose show “Ozark” leads the field with four bids. Bateman was a surprise nominee last year, but it’s clear that the love for “Ozark” hasn’t abated and has only grown. Bob Odenkirk (“Better Call Saul”), Joseph Fiennes (“The Handmaid’s Tale”) and John Krasinski (“Jack Ryan”) round out the top five.

PREDICT the SAG Awards now; change as often as you like until Jan. 27

Be sure to make your SAG Awards predictions so that Hollywood insiders can see how their films and performers are faring in our odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before winners are announced on Jan. 27. And join in the fierce debate over the 2019 SAG Awards taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our movie forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby