‘Survivor’ winners through the years: How does [SPOILER] compare to who’s come before?

Warning: The following story contains spoilers from the Season 37 finale of “Survivor.”

On December 19, 2018 Nick Wilson became the 37th winner of CBS’s reality TV show, joining such iconic champs as Richard Hatch (Season 1), Sandra Diaz-Twine (Season 7 and 20) and Wendell Holland (Season 36). In all 22 men have prevailed while women have accounted for 15 victories. For a refresher on the complete list, click through our photo gallery above that highlights all of the past “Survivor” winners through the years.

SEE ‘Survivor’ history: Which cast is the overall best in show’s 37 seasons? [POLL]

The show’s original champ made history in 2000 when he beat Kelly Wiglesworth by a narrow 4-3 vote thanks in part to Greg Buis asking them to pick a number between 1 and 10. After a memorable tribal council in which Sue Hawk called Richard a rat and Kelly a snake, novice host Jeff Probst named Richard as the first-ever Sole Survivor. The game wouldn’t be the same without Richard’s unique game play, as he was responsible for creating the concept of alliances and treating his fellow castaways like game pieces.

SEE Christian Hubicki exit interview on being the face of ‘Survivor: David vs. Goliath’: ‘I do get recognized a lot’ [PODCAST]

Over the next two decades hundreds of players would be invited to play the game twice or more, but only Sandra holds the record of winning twice, in “Pearl Islands” and “Heroes vs. Villains.” Years later Wendell also made history in “Survivor: Ghost Island” when he tied for the win with Domenick Abbate. Per the “Survivor” rule book, when a tie occurs in the final tribal council then the third finalist then becomes a member of the jury. Laurel Johnson chose to vote for Wendell, single-handedly making him the winner.

This most recent season, which featured a biblical “David vs. Goliath” theme, definitely lived up to its name as Nick was the last David remaining in a tribe of four Goliaths. In the end the jury gave Nick the $1 million check in a 7-3-0 vote over Mike White and Angelina Keeley. To see how the three-hour finale and reunion show went down, read our minute-by-minute live blog.

More News from GoldDerby