‘The Amazing Race’ season 31 spoilers: ‘Survivor,’ ‘Big Brother’ and ‘TAR’ teams in clash of reality TV stars

The wait for the return of “The Amazing Race” to the CBS line-up just got a little longer. We’ll have to sit tight till sometime in early 2019 before we get to see season 31 of this reality competition series. The race was run way back in June. The 11 teams are veterans of previous seasons of “TAR” as well as two other CBS reality competition series: “Survivor” and “Big Brother.”

Host Phil Keoghan was at the startling line in Hermosa Beach, California on June 10 to send these 22 contestants in a race around the world. He says he is confident that fans will like what they see. “We’re absolutely going to be trying some new things.” However, he assures us that “fans will get something of what they want based on the original format, us getting back to our roots.” And this perennial Emmy nominee readily admits, “I’m feeling confident that we have the right ingredients to do something interesting.”

SEE ‘The Amazing Race 30’ winners Jessica and Cody: After ‘Big Brother,’ this was our redemption project

Three teams are made up of former “Survivor” contestants:

Rupert Boneham (Pearl Islands, All-Stars, Heroes vs. Villains, and Blood vs. Water) and Laura Boneham (Blood vs. Water);

Chris Hammons and Bret LaBelle (Millennials vs. Gen X); and

Corinne Kaplan (Gabon, Caramoan) and Eliza Orlins (Vanuatu, Fans vs. Favorites).

Another three teams are drawn from “Big Brother” contestants, with one of those also having competed on “TAR.”

Victor Arroyo (Season 18) and Nicole Franzel (Seasons 16, 18);

Britney Haynes (Seasons 12, 14) and Janelle Pierzina (Seasons 6, 7, 14); and

Rachel Reilly (Seasons 12, 13; TAR Seasons 20 and 24) and Elissa Slater (Season 15);

WATCH Phil Keoghan (‘The Amazing Race’): Season 30 was a ‘jolt of Vitamin B’ that rejuvenated the show 

And five of the teams competed on previous seasons of “The Amazing Race” with varying results:

Colin Guinn and Christie Woods (Season 5: second place);

Art Velez and John James “JJ” Carrell (Season 20: second place);

Tyler Oakley and Korey Kuhl (Season 28: third place);

Leo Temory and Jamal Zadran (Season 23: fourth place); and

Becca Droz and Floyd Pierce (Season 29: fifth place).

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

More News from GoldDerby