‘The Amazing Race’: Season 31 will finally premiere on May 22, 2019

The Amazing Race” is finally returning to the CBS line-up with the 31st season set to premiere on May 22, 2019. This edition of the race was run way back in June. The 11 teams are veterans of previous seasons of “TAR” as well as two other CBS reality competition series: “Big Brother” and “Survivor.” As always, host Phil Keoghan was at the startling line in Hermosa Beach, California on June 10 to send these 22 contestants in a race around the world. The winners crossed the finish line in Detroit on July 3.

SEE ‘The Amazing Race 30’ winners Jessica and Cody: After ‘Big Brother,’ this was our redemption project

Five of the teams competed on previous seasons of “The Amazing Race” with varying results:

Colin Guinn and Christie Woods (Season 5: second place);

Art Velez and John James “JJ” Carrell (Season 20: second place);

Tyler Oakley and Korey Kuhl (Season 28: third place);

Leo Temory and Jamal Zadran (Season 23: fourth place); and

Becca Droz and Floyd Pierce (Season 29: fifth place).

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Three teams are drawn from “Big Brother” contestants, with one of those also having competed on “TAR.”

Victor Arroyo (Season 18) and Nicole Franzel (Seasons 16, 18);

Britney Haynes (Seasons 12, 14) and Janelle Pierzina (Seasons 6, 7, 14); and

Rachel Reilly (Seasons 12, 13; TAR Seasons 20 and 24) and Elissa Slater (Season 15).

WATCH Phil Keoghan (‘The Amazing Race’): Season 30 was a ‘jolt of Vitamin B’ that rejuvenated the show 

And three teams are made up of former “Survivor” contestants:

Rupert Boneham (Pearl Islands, All-Stars, Heroes vs. Villains, and Blood vs. Water) and Laura Boneham (Blood vs. Water);

Chris Hammons and Bret LaBelle (Millennials vs. Gen X); and

Corinne Kaplan (Gabon, Caramoan) and Eliza Orlins (Vanuatu, Fans vs. Favorites).

More News from GoldDerby